IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable...

Everything about backing up to tape

IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable...

Veeam Logoby folerx » Wed Sep 14, 2016 6:06 pm

hi
We have IBM TS3100 tape drive with two tape banks, left and right.
Tape have 4 SAS port at back side, HBA in server have one external SAS port. Host and Veeam correctly recognize tape drive, but only "half" at time.
Any recommendation what I need to configure or buy for full tape operation? HBA with 2 SAS ports?

host bus adapter LSI SATA/SAS 9212-4i4e
Image

IBM TS3100 backside connectors:
Image

IBM and Veeam console view:
Image
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:48 am

Just out of curiosity - have you tried to reach IBM support with hardware configuration questions? Chances are, they are more knowledgeable in this field than members of these forums. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:50 am

No..i dont
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:53 am

Then, it might be a good time to do that. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:53 am 1 person likes this post

Will do and report back
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby opg70 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:10 pm

For our TS3200, we had to connect a passive device that has one SAS input and 4 outputs, allowing us to connect each tape drive to the same sas port. It was an IBM 95P4996 Mini-SAS/Mini-SAS 4x Interposer. You could just use a cable though, such as this one: https://www.datastoragecables.com/sas/external/minisas-minisas-x2/

You only need only connect one port per drive though, not both - it will work fine (such as both PORT A to the controller)
opg70
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:48 am

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:17 pm

I dont know that exist y sas cabel. :!:
So we need y Mini-SAS SFF8088 and I can keep current adapter? :) Both drives will be visible to host server, 23 tapes? :?:
https://www.serialcables.com/largeview.asp?cat=317&tier=313&id=1377
Image
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby opg70 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:58 am

That should do the job indeed. The controller cannot see the drive without a direct SAS connection to it, but it only needs one channel for communication (not the 4 in an SAS cable). As long as one drive is connected it should also be able to see all the robot's 23 slots, so it will obviously work well with 2 connections also. It may actually work with the 2 drives daisy-chained (port A on one connected to the HBA and port B connected to the other drive) as SAS is a switching serial protocol, but I haven't tested it while using a Y cable (actually an interposer in our case) works fine.
opg70
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:48 am

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:05 am

Ok
Will try with daisy because i have another cable.
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:55 am

Progress...
I connect cable from hba in server to lower right sas port B.
Than from lower port A to top port B.
I am also configure bot drives as control path.
Now I see both tape drive and all 23 cartridges.
I dont know I this work because cables is good or control path is ok. :D
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby opg70 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:49 pm

must be because of the cabling - good to know that it works, in case our interposer has problems in the future...
opg70
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:48 am

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:23 pm

In ibm ts3100 web console i see both loaders connected and can share tapes from left to right. But, veeam and device manager show only one device. Veeam show offline for second tape device. host wont see what ts3100 see?
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:33 pm

Daniel,

device manager show only one device

Another drive is not showing or it's on offline state? Did you install the drivers (assuming yes if both drives are the same). Try to reboot and reinstall all the library drivers from scratch.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6237
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:11 am

Only one drive in device manager, same drives in ts3100, same driver in os...Probably I need some workaround with cables or hba. Like to have two tape drives for parallel processing :!:

Image

when i play with cables and add second cable, in tape console can see that both drives is on, but OS see only one. driver is non-exclusive version.

Image
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Re: IBM TS3100 SAS connectivity problem, 4 ports, one cable.

Veeam Logoby folerx » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Problem resolved, no problem at all, only my lack of information.
I configure 1 logical library instead two. Both tape magazines is grouped into single logical unit and act as single to drive. Now single drive (a or b) can write to both magazines and all 23 tapes as well as single cable to hba.

Image

drive 2 disabled
Image

all tapes visible to veeam :D
Image
folerx
Expert
 
Posts: 105
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:47 pm
Full Name: Daniel Kaiser

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests