Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
rmeyer5
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 28, 2015 8:48 am
Full Name: Rene Meyer
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Improvement request

Post by rmeyer5 »

Hi

I have a small, yet very annoying request for people with more than 1 I/E slot in a tape library.

I have many tape pools, so the need to export tapes from several pools at the same time (because they might need 1-5 tapes exported each).

So a tape export does the following:
Start the tape export
Once it graps the first tape it assign it to a I/E slot (first empty slot)
then export it to the slot

That is fine and works like it should, how ever, if you start 2 at the same time it doesn't work then the flow is the following:
Export job 1: Start the export
Export job 2: Start the export
Export job 1: Grap the tape assign it to I/E slot 0
Export job 2: Grap the tape assign it to I/E slot 0
Export job 1: Exported tape is now in I/E slot 0
Export job 2: Failed with the following error:
-------------------------
6/2/2016 9:03:41 AM Error Exporting tape HOE306 from Slot 52 to I/E port 0 Error: The operation completed successfully.
IEPort '0' is not empty
--tr:Error code: 0x00000000
The operation completed successfully.
IEPort '0' is not empty
-------------------------

Then if it's more than 1 tape in each job, then sometimes it export some from each job instead of finishing 1 job.
Just a tiny bit of intellingence build into this would solve the problem, so when a export is started it doesn't try to export to one that it already have assigned another tape to that it is about to move

I have 12 I/E slots in my tape robot, so some times it could save me 20 minutes of keeping an eye on the export, because I have to wait for one to finish before I can start another one each time

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5626
Liked: 549 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Improvement request

Post by PTide »

Hi,

That's a valid request, we'll take a closer look at the problem you've described. Thanks for the feedback!

rmeyer5
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 28, 2015 8:48 am
Full Name: Rene Meyer
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Improvement request

Post by rmeyer5 »

Thanks! :)

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11766
Liked: 1035 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Improvement request

Post by Dima P. »

Hi rmeyer5,

We reviewed your post with QA and they suggested to open a support case. If possible, please share the case ID so I could pass it to the team. Thanks in advance!

rmeyer5
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 28, 2015 8:48 am
Full Name: Rene Meyer
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Improvement request

Post by rmeyer5 »

Hi

Sorry about the long delay, bu I've created Case #01845870

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests