Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
obroni
Service Provider
Posts: 103
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:50 pm
Full Name: Nick Fisk
Contact:

Media Set Parallel Processing

Post by obroni » Nov 22, 2017 4:40 pm

Can someone confirm if this situation is as expected

Veeam 9.5U2
1 media set with 2 library's added and all the failover options ticked, including busy drives
1 drive in each library, both with free tapes.
Media set option set to always append.
Parallel processing set to 2.

2xFile to tape jobs both pointing at the same media pool.

Both jobs are kicked off. 1 job runs, the other hangs on waiting on tape infrastructure, with the following in the logs:

Code: Select all

[22.11.2017 16:00:23] <13> Info     [CTapeBackupWorkflowManager] [Full:************] Waiting for resource...
[22.11.2017 16:00:29] <12> Info     [CTapeParallelMediaSetLocker] Can't lock any media set in pool 1 Month, because all are busy
[22.11.2017 16:00:29] <12> Info     [CTapeMediaSetLockManager] Trying to lock Simple media set by session a5da2904-892a-418c-adb6-f04a94e1a308, drives count: 1
From reading the Veeam user guides, it says a new media set should be started following a library failover event.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15221
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Media Set Parallel Processing

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 23, 2017 11:56 am

Cross-library parallel processing is not there yet. We consider it a feature of one of the next product updates. Thanks.

obroni
Service Provider
Posts: 103
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:50 pm
Full Name: Nick Fisk
Contact:

Re: Media Set Parallel Processing

Post by obroni » Nov 23, 2017 11:59 am

Ok, thanks for confirming.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15221
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Media Set Parallel Processing

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 23, 2017 12:10 pm

You're welcome. We were not able to squeeze this feature in Update 3, but one of the subsequent product versions should have it implemented. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests