No compression on tape job

Everything about backing up to tape

No compression on tape job

Veeam Logoby $username » Thu Sep 08, 2016 5:04 pm

Hi there,

We're running a MSL2024 with Veeam 8.0.0.2084 with a DataDomain as our back end storage, we have two jobs that get offloaded to tape and I am trying to sort out how to set up hardware compression instead of dedupe on one of the jobs.

Both of the jobs that get offloaded to tape do not have compression, inline dedupe enabled or encryption enabled.

The data domain is performing compression and dedupe on the backed.

When I take a look at jobs Job1 has a dedupe ratio on the tape of 2.5-2.7 which we are very happy with but Job2 has a dedupe of 1-1.2, for this one we would like to see if hardware compression gets us a better number.

Both jobs have hardware compression enable in the job but of course it isn't running due to the dedupe, how do I disable the dedupe on Job2's writing to use compression instead?

Is the dedupe that is being shown a dedupe being done by the DD or Veeam?
$username
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:28 pm
Full Name: Gary Busey

Re: No compression on tape job

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Sep 09, 2016 10:07 am

Hi,
Hardware compression can be enabled in the job`s advanced options.
If you have hardware deduplication, it`s recommended to disable Veeam deduplication on the source jobs.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4854
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests