[TAPE] overview

Everything about backing up to tape

[TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby MaartenK » Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:36 pm

Hi,

slowy we implement the new veeam 7 by our customers. And one think I miss is a small thing. When you browse the Backups > Tapes it is not visiable with backup sets is using which tape or mediaset. This could be helpfull in selecting the right one. No you firt have to check which. For example replace the option repository because this isn`t being used by the tape.

small example what I mean :)
Image

Its just a small feature request though?

Regards,
Maarten
MaartenK
Service Provider
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:45 am
Full Name: Maarten Kalkema

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:05 am

Hi, Maarten. If you’re willing to identify what tapes are related to a particular mediaset, you can go to the media pool view and sort tape medias in accordance with the media sets they belong to. Is this what you're looking for?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby MaartenK » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:56 am

v.Eremin wrote:Hi, Maarten. If you’re willing to identify what tapes are related to a particular mediaset, you can go to the media pool view and sort tape medias in accordance with the media sets they belong to. Is this what you're looking for?

Thanks.


Hi,

thank you for you post. I understand and allready know that. Why isn`t it visible overhere? That more easy when you want to restore a specific VM.
MaartenK
Service Provider
 
Posts: 25
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:45 am
Full Name: Maarten Kalkema

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:09 pm

We might consider implementing additional tape visibility in one of the future releases. So, thank you for the feedback; much appreciated.

Also, don’t forget that during restore process you will be given barcodes of the tapes restore point resides on. Additionally, there is a predefined report in Veeam One called “Tape Backups” that might be also interested for you.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:34 pm

Hello Maarten,

I just wanted to follow-up and say thank you for your heads up! We submitted your request to QC department: Repository column will be hidden from this view in the upcoming releases. Cheers!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

[MERGED] : Interface - Tape Media display

Veeam Logoby dualdj1 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:24 pm

Under Backup & Replication -> Backups -> Tape

Is there any way we can get a column for Media Name, Media Set, etc in the display? Either in the main listing of jobs on tape, or in the details of the restore points? The repository column is unused for the tape backup listing, possibly show Media Set Name there? Anything to just give us a little more readily available detail on which tape we would need for performing a restore.

Thanks
dualdj1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:56 pm
Full Name: Jason K. Brandt

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:39 pm

Hi, Jason,

Your post has been merged into existing discussion regarding similar functionality.

As mentioned above, for now you can either use media pool view in order to see what tape belongs to this or that particular media set or put into use Veeam One report called “Tape Backups” and see whether it helps or not.

As to restore procedure, during it you will be asked to insert tapes needed for restore.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback. We’re planning to improve existing functionality in one of the next releases.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby dualdj1 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:35 pm

Thanks as always for the response. I was only asking as we keep our weekly/monthlys out of the library, so I need to identify the necessary tapes to load for a restore (if tape is used).


You guys are doing a great job on the tape project, keep up the good work!
dualdj1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:56 pm
Full Name: Jason K. Brandt

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:40 am

Hmm, what about Media Pool? Even the cassettes that have been taken offline are shown there, as well as, the cassette barcodes and media set cassette belongs to. So, using this view, you can identify what tapes are required for restoring certain media-set.

Or you believe this view still needs some further polishing? If so, don't hesitate to share your thoughts regarding it with us.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [TAPE] overview

Veeam Logoby dualdj1 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:18 pm

There are ways to find out, definitely. It just doesn't feel "natural". Most of the backup job information and recovery point information is in the Backup & Replication section under tape. But then to get more details or find specific tapes, you have to bounce over to Backup Infrastructure and poke around. Would be nice to have it available all in the same place, if possible. But if not is not a huge concern.

Thanks
dualdj1
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:56 pm
Full Name: Jason K. Brandt


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests