Restore from (older) tapes

Everything about backing up to tape

Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby TommyB » Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:54 pm

Hi,

I'm currently trying to restore a VM from a tape backup from April 2016. The tapes are moved to a vault already.

When I look at the properties/files tab of the tape, I can see the .vbk and .vib files, so I know the backup is there.

But when I try to do a "restore VM from tape", Veeam tells me it only needs the following tapes:

Tape with sequence number 4 from Media set Weekly Backup 29.08.2016 09:01
Tape with sequence number 3 from Media set Weekly Backup 29.08.2016 09:01


Which definitely are the wrong tapes... what do I have to do that those backups/tapes show up in the restore?

According to this https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/vsphere/restore_backup_from_tape_point.html there should be a point in the process where it asks which restore point should be restored... but this never shows up.

Any idea what to do? Or should I open a support case?

Thomas
TommyB
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Full Name: Thomas Braun

Re: Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 05, 2016 1:36 pm

Tapes that are currently in vault and contain old restore points should be shown in the referenced dialog. So, the described behaviour doesn't look expected.

It stands to reason to open a ticket with our support team.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby TommyB » Mon Sep 05, 2016 1:45 pm

Hi Vladimir,

do you think it may help to run an additional "catalog drive" operation on those tapes before contacting support?

Thomas
TommyB
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Full Name: Thomas Braun

Re: Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:02 pm

Sure, you can try to catalogue those tapes and restore data from them afterwards. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby TommyB » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:46 am

Hi,

thanks, now it works, just restoring the VM :-)

Thoimas
TommyB
Expert
 
Posts: 115
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 9:46 am
Location: Germany.Europe.Terra.Sol.Milkyway.Localgroup.Virgo
Full Name: Thomas Braun

Re: Restore from (older) tapes

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:17 am

The previously written media sets sent to vaults should not be removed from catalogue. So, the original behaviour doesn't look expected.

Glad to hear you were able to overcome it, though. Should the situation re-appear in future, don't hesitate to let our support team know.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 969 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MBT, staskorz, Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests