Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
stevendt
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Dave Stevenson

Slow backup to tape (LTO6)

Post by stevendt »

Hi,
I am new to Veeam B&R. Using Version 10 in a home setting, so looking to use the Community Edition.

I have managed to get hold of a second hand Dell LT2000 Autoloader with an IBM LTO6 Drive.

I have got Veeam B&R working and using the tape drive and library, but writing to tape is much slower than I had expected. Using File to tape to backup a Network share, I am getting about 60MB/s. That can't be right surely?

I initially used the Native drivers in Windows Server 2016 but have also tried the Vendor Drivers (For Windows Server 2012R2) which made no difference.
I have also tried turning off the "Use hardware compression when available" option
The Tape Drive and Tape Server is on the same machine as the main B&R application.
I am backing up the shares over a 1GB link, but the Bottleneck is reported as the target.
The data is Windows Server Backup and Novastore Backup files - not sure if they are already compressed or not.

Can anyone help me improve the tape writing speed please?
regards
Dave
stevendt
Novice

Re: Slow backup to tape (LTO6)

Post by stevendt »

mmm, maybe this is as just about as good as it can be on a 1GB LAN ???

If all of the (lightly loaded) network bandwidth was available to the backup job . . .
1Gigabit/s would roughly be 100,000 bytes/second (I usually use a rule of thumb of 10 bit/byte allowing for overhead)
100,000B/s would be (ignoring that 1024 thing) 100MB/s maximum
I would have hoped for more, but may not actually be able to get much over the 60MB/s that I am seeing?

I would be interested in comments, but I will try a local drive to tape transfer and see what I get

regards
Dave
soncscy
Veteran
Liked: 312 times
Full Name: Harvey

Post by soncscy »

Hi Dave,