Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Everything about backing up to tape

Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PenguinSSH » Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:18 pm

Hello to all,

Any way to start a GFS tape job through Powershell. It seems that if we use start-vbrjob -job NameOfGFSTapeJob, we receive the following error message in the console: Failed to detect backup files to copy to tape from "Name Of Backup Job"

However, if we start the job manually through the console interface, this works perfectly...

Any suggestions or anybody else have that issue?
PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:41 pm

Hi,

Am I understanding it right - you've specified a backup job as a source in your backup to tape job and there backups available to be copied to tape though your backup to tape job throws an error when you try to start it using powershell whereas everything is fine when you start it via GUI? If so then please open a case with support team and post your case id here please.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3022
Liked: 247 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PenguinSSH » Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:47 pm

Yup that is correct, I was wondering if anybody else saw this. I'll open a support case for this and post back.

EDIT

Here is the CaseId: 01697522
PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:11 pm

Have you tried Sync-VBRBackupToTapeJob commandlet, instead? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PenguinSSH » Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:00 pm

Hello v.Eremin,

We did indeed found this command but have found that it constantly create VBKs even though the weekly/Monthly exists currently on tape. I don't know if this is expected or not. Maybe we got the syntax wrong though it is quite simple.

EDIT
------

From the documentation, it seems to start an active full which is not what we want to do but just to forcefully continue the cycle where the job failed the last time. Since the job fails, it doesn't automatically restart.
PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PenguinSSH » Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:55 pm

Just wanted to post an update, support can reproduce the issue in their lab. They'll be pursuing this issue internally.
PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:31 pm

From the documentation, it seems to start an active full which is not what we want to do but just to forcefully continue the cycle where the job failed the last time. Since the job fails, it doesn't automatically restart.

You're right, the said commandlet starts a GFS cycle anew.

The issue with retries not taking place should be investigated closer, so keep working with our support team.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Starting GFS Tape job with powershell

Veeam Logoby PenguinSSH » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:51 pm 1 person likes this post

Just an FYI for everybody, support was able to reproduce the issue and have also identified an issue with backup jobs interrupting the GFS tape job. The GFS tape job doesn't retry automatically like it should.
PenguinSSH
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm
Full Name: PenguinSSH


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cotterj, Google [Bot] and 3 guests