Stopped by job?

Everything about backing up to tape

Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby namiko78 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:54 pm

Hi guys, maybe i'm not doing this correctly, but I want to create a monthly tape full backup of everything for offsite storage. I created the job, and targeted one of my backup jobs. Started the job, and while it was running i manually started the backup job to see what would happen (expecting it to wait for the tape job to finish) instead it killed the tape job and said "stopped by job"

Is there another way to do this? I'd rather not pull it from the offsite backup copy location, but would that have different results?

Thanks
namiko78
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:49 pm
Full Name: Steven Stirling

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:52 pm

Hello Steven,
Since the backup files become locked by the backup to disk job – backup to tape was suspended. The best approach so far is to properly configure the schedule for tape job. You can use either ‘after this job’ or ‘as a new backup files appear’ triggers with the enabled ‘If some linked backup jobs are still running, wait for up to … minutes’ option. Here is a detailed explanation from the Help Center: Define the Job Schedule. Does it work for your case?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:56 am

Hi guys, maybe i'm not doing this correctly, but I want to create a monthly tape full backup of everything for offsite storage

Do you want to copy a backup chain as a whole or just the latest full backup? In the latter case, synthesized full backup should be your way to go. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby namiko78 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:49 pm

The linked option is only helpful if my backup job is running first, i suppose i could set it to run after the main job has started, and hopefully it finishes before the next scheduled run kills it. There should be an option in the main job to wait for the tape job to finish.

Regarding the synthesized backup, I'm not really clear on what this does, even after reading the help. I want a monthly full on tape, but from a forever incremental chain that runs daily. what option should i use?

Thanks
namiko78
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:49 pm
Full Name: Steven Stirling

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:00 am

There should be an option in the main job to wait for the tape job to finish.

You can use pre-job scripts for that.

Regarding the synthesized backup, I'm not really clear on what this does, even after reading the help. I want a monthly full on tape, but from a forever incremental chain that runs daily. what option should i use?

This functionality synthesizes a full backup file out of existing backup chain directly on tapes. Using this functionality, you can create full backup directly on tapes on monthly basis. That's what I'd recommend for you.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby namiko78 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:06 pm

Any examples of these scripts?

So for the synth, if i want to do my full to tape on the first of the month, should i set the sync to be the day before, repeating once a month?
Thanks
namiko78
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:49 pm
Full Name: Steven Stirling

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:17 pm 1 person likes this post

Something like a waiting loop within which a job state is checked should answer your requirements:

Code: Select all
$TapeJob = Get-VBRTapeJob -name "Name of tape Job"
do{
Start-sleep -s 60
$State = $TapeJob.LastState
}while ($State -ne "Stopped")


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby namiko78 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:37 pm

Thanks!
namiko78
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:49 pm
Full Name: Steven Stirling

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:54 pm

Since it's just a rough example, feel free to test and/or modify it before implementing. Thanks,
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Tape Job stopped by Backup 2 Disc Job

Veeam Logoby chefkoch » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:48 am

Hello,

i'm currently evaluating Veeam Backup & Recovery and i'm having the problem,
that my disk 2 tape jobs don't finish because they get stopped by the regular backup jobs.

The job log of the tape job just states

17.02.2015 01:34:56 :: Error: Stopped by job 'Backup Job 2' (Backup)

In the Job Log of Backup Job 2 there is no mention of the tape job getting cancelled.

Is there a setting to prevent this?
chefkoch
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Tape Job stopped by Backup 2 Disc Job

Veeam Logoby chefkoch » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:24 am

My google fu failed me before, but now i found this

post132945.html?hilit=stopped#p132945
chefkoch
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:35 am

Yep, you can use pre-job script to avoid this behaviour. Otherwise, schedule jobs more carefully, so that they don't overlap.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby Steen » Sun Apr 26, 2015 8:30 am

But if You are have a Tape-job that is backing up a repository (or several repositories)? Then You suspend all backup job that is in that repository?
We are backing up about 40 TB which takes several days and use incremental backup-jobs and when tape-job is processing the .vbk the backup-job is starting to backup and then it will merge the .vbk -file and the whole tape-job stop for the .vbk and all others thats in the repository and the rest of the repositories!
Regards Steen
Steen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 1:20 pm
Full Name: Steen

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:26 am

But what would be the desired behaviour in your opinion? Tape job can't copy a .vbk file that is being merged, because it's not the same as it has been at the time when the tape job took place.

In order to avoid that you can add a waiting loop to backup jobs, so that, they wait till tape jobs finish processing. Another option is to schedule jobs more carefully to avoid interference. Finally, you can switch backup jobs to forward forever incremental mode and let backup jobs create virtual synthesized full backup.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Stopped by job?

Veeam Logoby mkreitzer » Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:58 pm

Synthesized fulls do not seem to make a difference. Scheduling to avoid overlap is difficult when trying to copy a very large full from a backup job that otherwise runs daily. Ideally Veeam would "snapshot" the full for the duration of the tape job and merge all of the changes at the end so that the daily schedule can continue on the primary job while the tape jobs continues to run. Dynamically updating the pointers in the synthesized full could also work. In the meantime, unless there are other suggestions, it looks like delaying the primary job with a script is the least worst option.
mkreitzer
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:54 pm
Full Name: Michael Kreitzer

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests