Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
wjching
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:36 am
Full Name: Ching Wen Jun
Contact:

Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by wjching »

Hi All,

I have a customer using an existing Tape Library (IBM TS 3100) for Tape Out Purposes.

The current Tape library is being re-used for Veeam Tape Out purpose. I was just wondering if this Tape Library is supported by VEEAM ? I couldnt find a list of supported models from VEEAM on this online.

As always thanks in advance :)

Regards,
Wen Jun.
Thanks in advance for any suggestion or advice :D

Regards,
Wen Jun

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4368
Liked: 816 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Hi Wen Jun,

Veeam support all libraries with LTO3 or newer (direct data and control pathes).
There is no hardware compatibility list that limit the support to specific listed ones.

But TS3100 is widely common used with Veeam and you can find them as well on:
https://forums.veeam.com/tape-f29/unoff ... 17488.html

If you have 2 drives in it, please configure only one drive as control path.
Enable auto cleaning in the library and 1-2 cleaning media (replace them over time).
Install the IBM driver (library and drives) in "non exclusive" mode (can be selected at installation).

Outlaw
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 28, 2018 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by Outlaw »

Andreas Neufert wrote: If you have 2 drives in it, please configure only one drive as control path.
Hello,

Pls explain the written. Who configure only one drive ?

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4368
Liked: 816 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by Andreas Neufert »

If you will use one drive in the TS3100 library, the data and control path is clear (this drive).

For libraries with 2 or more drives:
Usually these libraries has the option to forward the control path on different drives, which we do not support today.
I think this is the default anyway.

But you can check by going into the Front Panel
1.Select Drive(s) > Interface > Identification/Settings.
2.Navigate to Configure + Drive.
3.Select a drive.
Check the drives that only one is marked as control path.

wjching
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 18, 2018 8:36 am
Full Name: Ching Wen Jun
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by wjching »

Hi Andreas,

Thanks for the heads up. Yes I will be sure to configure only one control path prior to actual discovery of tape library on veeam server !

Regards,
Wen Jun.
Thanks in advance for any suggestion or advice :D

Regards,
Wen Jun

Shaveen
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2019 6:10 pm
Full Name: shaveen Purmessur
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by Shaveen »

Hello ,

My apologizes for posting in an old thread.

I have a TS3100 tape library with current firmware A.60/3.10e .
I have connected it to a SAN switch and then to one of my ESXI host via FC on which I have deployed a tape server.
PCI device was added to the virtual machine using passthrough and storage controller was detected on the tape server device manager .
However when doing a rescan of the tape server, it could not detect the tape library( Medium changer on Device Manager)
My belief is that I have to install the tape library OEM drivers on the veeam tape server but I dont know which one.

Can someone which have perform the same configuration help me on this.

Note that Veeam version is latest v10 P2.

Thank you
Shaveen purmessur

RobTurk
Veeam Software
Posts: 49
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2019 10:05 am
Full Name: Rob Turk
Contact:

Re: Support for TS3100 IBM Tape Library

Post by RobTurk »

Hello Shaveen,

VMWare does not support tape devices attached to ESXi systems, and therefor neither does Veeam. This has been the case ever since VMWare 5.x (see: https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1016407)
If you have an FC-connected physical server (your repository server perhaps?) then that may be a good candidate for a Veeam tape server.

Regards,
Rob

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests