Tandberg Data LTO-§ drive not found

Discussions specific to tape backups

Tandberg Data LTO-§ drive not found

Veeam Logoby Gladius » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:24 pm

Hello folks,
veeam b&R 9.5 SP2 the tape drive is not present (tape library discovery runs, but did not show the drive)
System: Windows Server 2016
Drive: Tandberg Data LTO-3 Drive vie Adaptec AHA 2940UW PSC SCSI Controller

I tried a diffrent backup solution (Z-DBackup + Z-DATdump) and there the drive is available.

The general question: Is that drive not supported by veeam? The inofficial list did not dislay that drive for now.

The environment is for testing purposes only thats why i had added an old drive (the production environment has LTO-6 drives and veeam working fine with that).

Maybe someone knows how to make that device work.

Thanks in advance
Regards

Gladius
Gladius
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 6:48 am

Re: Tandberg Data LTO-§ drive not found

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:54 pm

Hello Gladius and welcome to the community!
Generally LTO-3 drives are supported, we have a number of customers using Tandberg hardware as well as Adaptec controllers, so I don`t see why it should not work.
I would suggest to contact the support team.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5196
Liked: 433 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Tandberg Data LTO-§ drive not found

Veeam Logoby Gladius » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:34 am

Hello Shestakov,

meanwhile I had replaced the SCSI-attached LTO3 drive by an SAS-LTO6, and that drive is working well.
Main reason was: My VM in test site are at about 1 TB in size, and I not had found a solution to split large vm-backups to write them on tape, and LTO3 has only 400GB native/800GB compressed...

So, this topic can be closed

Thanks for your assistance
Regards

Gladius
Gladius
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 6:48 am

Re: Tandberg Data LTO-§ drive not found

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:33 pm

My VM in test site are at about 1 TB in size, and I not had found a solution to split large vm-backups to write them on tape, and LTO3 has only 400GB native/800GB compressed

You don't need to split such backup, it will be distributed among three tapes automatically, while backup to tape job is running. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13868
Liked: 1038 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest