Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
wallsy
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 23, 2013 12:45 pm
Full Name: James walls
Contact:

Tape Drive On V7

Post by wallsy »

We are testing Veeam v7 and find it great, but as V7 has the ability to connect a tape drive, we want to do that, the tape library is a dell lt2000 with a iscsi bridge (not sure what this does)

appreciate any input

james

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17881
Liked: 1673 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tape Drive On V7

Post by veremin »

Hi, James. According to general recommendations, in order to be supported the tape appliance should be directly attached to B&R server and be visible in the Windows device Manager. Also it has to have appropriate Windows drivers installed.

Actually, you don't need to "Add" tape device like other servers, it is automatically detected and attached, once you’ve met the aforesaid requirements.

Thanks.

nickfurnell
Veeam Software
Posts: 82
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Aug 22, 2013 9:02 am
Full Name: Nick Furnell
Location: North West England
Contact:

Re: Tape Drive On V7

Post by nickfurnell »

Hi Guys. I have written a short article about having to update Device Drivers and Tape Firmware, if devices are not seen by Device Manager. Mine was a HP G2 Autoloader.

Please visit http://www.talking-it.com/2013/backup/v ... pe-device/ for the full description.

Thanks
Nick
Nick Furnell
Cloud SE UK&I

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests