Using tape as a backup target
Post Reply
pshute
Expert
Posts: 242
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Tape got moved to Unrecognised, no options to fix?

Post by pshute »

I just noticed that one of our tapes has appeared in the Unrecognized pool. If I right click on it, the only options that aren't greyed out are Eject and Properties. Anyone seen this before?

Tape has been used a couple of times, and has been restored from recently.

It's appearing in the list of available restore points if I start setting up a tape restore job. I'm thinking I won't try to fix this yet, for fear of losing access to the backup on it. Just wondering what might have caused it.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11540
Liked: 1001 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tape got moved to Unrecognised, no options to fix?

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Peter,

Tape is moved to unrecognized media pool if it has been removed from the VBR's catalog (the most common scenario - such tape was marked as free). Can you please check if inventory / catalog operations are available on the mentioned tape? Cheers!

pshute
Expert
Posts: 242
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Re: Tape got moved to Unrecognised, no options to fix?

Post by pshute »

I can do an inventory on the drive, but I can do that whether there's a tape in it or not. It still knows the name of the tape.

I can't catalog the tape. That's greyed out. I can only eject it.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11540
Liked: 1001 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tape got moved to Unrecognised, no options to fix?

Post by Dima P. »

Understood, thank you! What's the state of the tape? Any chance is marked as offline (maybe it was exported thus the operations are grayed out)?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests