-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2010 3:23 pm
- Contact:
Tape Inventory Job?
I have a 17 Tape loader with my tape set getting swapped out weekly.
I would like to have Veeam automatically inventory my media set after I swap tapes.
How do I accomplish this?
I would like to have Veeam automatically inventory my media set after I swap tapes.
How do I accomplish this?
-
- Chief Product Officer
- Posts: 31814
- Liked: 7302 times
- Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
- Location: Baar, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Probably the best way to do this, is schedule a PowerShell script that initiates tape inventory job weekly at a certain time. Thanks!
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2010 3:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
I noticed a post covering this, I will give this a try.
Hoping that this counts towards a feature request.
Thanks
Matt
Hoping that this counts towards a feature request.
Thanks
Matt
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2010 3:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Just to verify, I will only have to run this script one time for EACH new set of weekly tapes, correct?
Once they have all been inventoried, the next time that set is loaded and a job kicks off, Veeam will recognize them?
Once they have all been inventoried, the next time that set is loaded and a job kicks off, Veeam will recognize them?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14726
- Liked: 1707 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Matt,
You perform inventory on tapes when you load them into the drive, then backup to tape is performed and all the information about this media is collected into tape catalogue which is stored inside Veeam server database. Pass some time if this media is loaded into the drive again Veeam B&R need to recognize it i.e. read meta data placed on media during backup to tape job. In order to do that you would need to run inventory job each time you load tape into tape library.
Currently we are looking in how we could improve the importing process and possibly implement auto import feature into Veeam B&R.
You perform inventory on tapes when you load them into the drive, then backup to tape is performed and all the information about this media is collected into tape catalogue which is stored inside Veeam server database. Pass some time if this media is loaded into the drive again Veeam B&R need to recognize it i.e. read meta data placed on media during backup to tape job. In order to do that you would need to run inventory job each time you load tape into tape library.
Currently we are looking in how we could improve the importing process and possibly implement auto import feature into Veeam B&R.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Though, be aware that previously provided script was related to standalone drive inventory. In case of tape library, you should use something different:
Hope this helps.
Thanks.
Code: Select all
asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary -name "Name of tape library"
$Library | Start-VBRTapeInventory
Hope this helps.
Thanks.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 11
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2010 3:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
I modified the script you provided and it is working perfectly.
Thank You to all who have responded, I appreciate the help.
Additionally, I am quite pleased with the file copy to tape job, it is cleaner and is perfect for replacing BackUp Exec.
Matt
Thank You to all who have responded, I appreciate the help.
Additionally, I am quite pleased with the file copy to tape job, it is cleaner and is perfect for replacing BackUp Exec.
Matt
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
You’re welcome. Feel free to contact us, should any additional help be needed.
-
- Lurker
- Posts: 1
- Liked: never
- Joined: Nov 18, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Same Problem. Thanks for solving.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 20
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 21, 2014 12:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Hi
That script worked perfectly for me for a couple of weeks and it suddenly stopped working. I am getting the error below in ps
The script:
The error I am getting
That script worked perfectly for me for a couple of weeks and it suddenly stopped working. I am getting the error below in ps
The script:
Code: Select all
asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary -name "FSC FibreCAT TX08 2.02"
$Library | Start-VBRTapeInventory
Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapeLibrary : Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
At C:\Veeam Scripts\auto-tape-inventory.ps1:2 char:30
+ $Library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary <<<< -name "FSC FibreCAT TX08 2.02"
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-VBRTapeLibrary], TargetIn
vocationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException,Veea
m.Backup.PowerShell.Command.GetVBRTapeLibrary
Start-VBRTapeInventory : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Library'. The a
rgument is null. Supply a non-null argument and try the command again.
At C:\Veeam Scripts\auto-tape-inventory.ps1:3 char:34
+ $Library | Start-VBRTapeInventory <<<<
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidData: (:) [Start-VBRTapeInventory], Param
eterBindingValidationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Veeam.Backup.Po
werShell.Command.StartVBRTapeInventory
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Can you confirm that the library with the said name still exists? Also, have you performed product update recently? There was a case where something went wrong with component upgrade, and this resulted in user's inability to use previously written scripts.
Thanks.
Thanks.
-
- Influencer
- Posts: 20
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 21, 2014 12:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Hi
Yes that library still exists under same name
This is the result I am getting after running the script
A few weeks ago I has some issue with the tabe library shown in the Veeam software and one of member of your team asked me to run the SQl script, Also some other scripts were run by your technical teeam member to clear the error in our SQL DBase. The issue was sorted, but wonder if that could affect the
Yes that library still exists under same name
This is the result I am getting after running the script
Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapeLibrary : Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
At C:\Veeam Scripts\test.ps1:2 char:34
+ $Library = Get-VBRTapeLibrary <<<< -name "FSC FibreCAT TX08 2.02"
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-VBRTapeLibrary], TargetIn
vocationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException,Veea
m.Backup.PowerShell.Command.GetVBRTapeLibrary
Code: Select all
Select *
Into #Temp
From [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[Tape.devices] where name in
(SELECT name FROM [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[Tape.devices] d1 GROUP BY name HAVING COUNT(name) = 2)
Declare @id uniqueidentifier
While (Select Count(*) From #Temp where state = '1') > 0
Begin
Select top 1 @id = id From #Temp where state = 1;
update #temp
set serial_number=(select serial_number from #Temp where state = '0' and name = (SELECT name FROM #Temp where id =@id))
where state = '1' and name = (SELECT name FROM #Temp where id =@id)
Delete from [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[Tape.devices] Where state = 0 and name = (SELECT name FROM #Temp where id =@id)
Delete from #Temp Where id = @id
End
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 20415
- Liked: 2302 times
- Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
- Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
- Contact:
Re: Tape Inventory Job?
Not sure what might have gone wrong, but you can try to reinstall PS snap-in, as indicated in the referenced thread.
Otherwise, you can raise this issue with support team and let them investigate it directly.
Thanks.
Otherwise, you can raise this issue with support team and let them investigate it directly.
Thanks.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests