Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby rpetrov1981 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:37 am

Hi! When I had VBR 7 installed, I was able to perform tape backups with my IBM 3573 TL.
After switching to v8 I cannot do it anymore. During running of any job I am getting such a message "GetTapeHeader failed ChannelError: ConnectionReset"
I also cannot perform either Inventory Library or Catalog Library - they fail with the same error.
From the tape library's side I can perform tape inventory successfully and the library seems to work well. What I've done so far:
1. Restarting Veeam server
2. Restarting tape library
3. Disabling tape drives in Device Manager, removing media pools and all tape jobs, deleting the library itself. And it still doesn't work.
Any suggestions?
Case # 00680055
rpetrov1981
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:45 am
Full Name: Roman Petrov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:07 am

Just out of curiosity - have you tried to erase given mediums and start a tape job anew? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13260
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby rpetrov1981 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:58 am

v.Eremin wrote:Just out of curiosity - have you tried to erase given mediums and start a tape job anew? Thanks.


Quick erasing failed with the same error. Full erasing have started a half hour ago and still working
Thanks!
rpetrov1981
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:45 am
Full Name: Roman Petrov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:02 am

Let's see whether full erase will allow you to proceed any futher. Anyway, keep working with the support team on finding the root cause of that behaviour. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13260
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby hayesr1 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:31 pm

Were you able to get this resolved? I'm running into the same issue and was going to open an incident as well.
hayesr1
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:13 pm
Full Name: Ryan Hayes

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby rpetrov1981 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:28 am

hayesr1 wrote:Were you able to get this resolved? I'm running into the same issue and was going to open an incident as well.

Hi! Unfortunately my problem is still solving. I will update the post
rpetrov1981
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 8:45 am
Full Name: Roman Petrov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:30 am

Hi, Ryan,

Please, open your own ticket with our support team. Having as much information as possible will let us find the root cause faster.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13260
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby hayesr1 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:39 pm 1 person likes this post

I just opened an issue as well. My case number is 00682788
hayesr1
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:13 pm
Full Name: Ryan Hayes

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:47 pm

Hello all,
QA and DEV teams found the root of this problem. Once the hotfix is ready – you get it ASAP. Thank you for your patience!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby stuartmacgreen » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:04 am

Can anyone confirm what the root cause of this was?
I had an issue straight away also moving to Veeam 8 from 7. B2T jobs failed due to tape block size detected did not match drive default block size. I had to use mt.exe to set correct block size on media. Long and short erase does not change the tape block size that currently exists. I have had to set all my tape media block size for those that were not the default block size of my drives. Apparently there has been a change in Veeam 8 code which now does extra checking for this.
Backup Infrastructure: Veeam B&R 9.5 • vSphere 5.5 U3e • HP MSA 2040 [FC] (Backup Storage) • HP MSL6480 LTO-6 (Tape Storage)
(Veeam Endpoint Backup protecting Veeam Proxy / Tape / Repository servers)
stuartmacgreen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 87
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Green

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:30 am

Stuart,
Have you opened a support case? Can you provide the case ID to check the details of support team investigation? Thank you in advance.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby stuartmacgreen » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:09 am

Dmitry the SR is 00685458.

For reference the errors I was receiving was:

Failed to start new tape backup session: StartSessionTape failed
Failed to prepare to start new tape session: StartSessionTape failed
Failed to prepare to start new tape session: StartSessionTape failed StartSessionTape failed When accessing a new tape of a multivolume partition, the current block size is incorrect. Tape read error When accessing a new tape of a multivolume partition, the current block size is incorrect.
Backup Infrastructure: Veeam B&R 9.5 • vSphere 5.5 U3e • HP MSA 2040 [FC] (Backup Storage) • HP MSL6480 LTO-6 (Tape Storage)
(Veeam Endpoint Backup protecting Veeam Proxy / Tape / Repository servers)
stuartmacgreen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 87
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Green

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:43 pm

Thank you!

I have had to set all my tape media block size for those that were not the default block size of my drives. Apparently there has been a change in Veeam 8 code which now does extra checking for this.


As far as I know, the block size auto detection mechanism was not changed since v7 and during read operations the existing block size on your media should be equal to the supported block size on you drive. Any chance you used media in the question with one drive and then loaded them into other drive?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby stuartmacgreen » Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:19 pm

I am using only a HP MSL G3 series (MSL8096) with 4 x 3280 Ultrium FC drives. So the drives are the same/same firmware. So when you say moved from drive to another there are a possible of 4 same drives for it to use.

Veeam 8 is setting the block size on tape media as displayed with this recent job error:

SetTapeMediaBlockSizeToDrive failed Failed to send command An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine
Backup Infrastructure: Veeam B&R 9.5 • vSphere 5.5 U3e • HP MSA 2040 [FC] (Backup Storage) • HP MSL6480 LTO-6 (Tape Storage)
(Veeam Endpoint Backup protecting Veeam Proxy / Tape / Repository servers)
stuartmacgreen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 87
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:56 am
Full Name: Stuart Green

Re: Tape jobs fail after switching to VBR 8

Veeam Logoby MHoffmann » Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:02 pm

Any news on this?
We have exactly the same problem with HP 1x8 Autoloader equipped with LOT4 drive - After upgrading V7 to V8 it broke down with the block size error on tape backups.
Unfortunately we are still in evaluation phase so calling support may not be an option. Hotfix welcome :-)

BTW: Where do i get the aforementioned mt.exe?
MHoffmann
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:08 pm

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests