Tape - Virtual Labs

Everything about backing up to tape

Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby James Yap » Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:30 am

Hi,

Is it possible to restore a VM to a Virtual Labs from Tape?
Maybe I wasn't searching hard enough but I've been unable to find an answer online.

Cheers!
James Yap
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:04 am
Full Name: James Yap

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:45 am

Hello James,
Welcome to the Veeam Community!

It’s possible but before resorting VM to infrastructure you would need to restore VM backup from tape media to the repository. Here are the detailed instructions from Help Center Restoring VMs from Tape to Virtual Infrastructure
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:05 am

Then, you would need to import restored backup files, and create an application group, selecting VMs from the imported backups. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13290
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby James Yap » Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:34 am

Hi Eremen,

Thanks for the welcome!

So, I am unable to restore a VM to Virtual Labs from Tape directly?
Hmm, that might be a big problem for me.

The client wants me to find a way to verify that the backups on Tape are successful.
I thought about full VM restores but each of the VMs are 2-3TB each and I think that it is not a viable solution to keep restoring the VM every time they want to check the data inside.

Do you have any ideas for this scenario? How can I check the data inside the tape backup without doing a full VM restore?

Thanks!
James Yap
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:04 am
Full Name: James Yap

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:51 am

So, I am unable to restore a VM to Virtual Labs from Tape directly?

Unfortunately, no – the backup file must be restored to the repository on the first place.

Do you have any ideas for this scenario? How can I check the data inside the tape backup without doing a full VM restore?

If it’s suitable you could run VM recovery verification before backing up to tape by running the SureBackup Job on a daily basis. Additionally you could perform manual recovery from tape when needed or upon customer’s request.

Also you could split the target backup to disk job to contain less VMs in such case less temporary storage during recovery process is required.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby James Yap » Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:11 am

Hi d.popov,

Thanks for the reply.
I will need to think of a way to let my client know.
They plan on doing spot checks several times during the week to verify that the data on the tape is working, but I will propose the SureBackup verification before the Tape Backup job is run.

Big thanks to you guys for helping me out!
James Yap
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:04 am
Full Name: James Yap

Re: Tape - Virtual Labs

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:23 pm

You are welcome James. If any questions should arise please let us know.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6257
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests