Discussions specific to tape backups
Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by Shestakov » Oct 20, 2014 2:25 pm

Hello Rob,
VBR doesn`t write to a tape if it receives a message from the tape appliance that the tape media is full.
Could you provide more info about the issue?
What kind of tape device do you have? Do you use media rotation? What`s the size of the job? etc.
Thank you.

jbot
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 25, 2015 4:00 pm
Full Name: Jacob
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by jbot » Feb 25, 2015 4:26 pm

We have been having trouble with our last tape only writing a 100-200 gigs of the 2.5 tb of tape. We come in the next morning with "waiting for tape" error. We add another new tape to the library and it finishes just fine. Any ideas?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Feb 26, 2015 9:58 am 1 person likes this post

Is it singular case or the issue keeps re-occurring? As mentioned above, we get information regarding tape free space directly from drive/library. Thus, if the problem is recurring one, it might be worth checking whether there has been firmware or drivers update recently. Thanks.

andreasender6840
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2015 8:35 am
Full Name: Andreas Ender
Contact:

[MERGED] : Next Tape after 1,1TB with LTO-6 (2,4TB Tape) !?

Post by andreasender6840 » Sep 01, 2015 6:02 am

I have to following system setup:

- Windows 2012 R2 Server with latest updates
- B&R v8 with Update 2b

Windows 2012 R2 runs as a VM sitting on a vSphere 6 Host. The Host is a DL380p G8 Server with a HP H222 Host Bus Adapter. The Host Bus Adapter is presented as a PCI-Controller inside the VM with DirectPath I/O. The Tape is a HP Ultrium 6250 SAS Ext Drive. Everything seems to work fine but after backing up a repositroy or backup job to tape the job stops after 1,1TB and want to have a next tape!? The Tape is shown as a 2,4TB Tape inside B&R. After i cancel the job the tape shows 1,3TB free space... A job with less than 1,1TB has no problems...

All i got is this simple message from the job:
'Backup to Tape' job requires a tape to be inserted into 'HP Ultrium 6-SCSI' tape library. See the corresponding job session in Veeam Backup & Replication management console for details.

Anyone has a a configuration like this wich works?

I know - it´s not official supported to have a controller with DirectPath I/O - but is there any solution?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Sep 01, 2015 9:23 am

Generally speaking, we take information regarding tape free space from library/drive. So, for some reason the device seems to be misinforming a backup server.

As a first investigation step I'd check drivers, as well as, firmware. If everything looks good I'd reach our support team for closer investigation.

And direct patch is indeed not recommended due to the reasons outlined here.

Thanks.

andreasender6840
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2015 8:35 am
Full Name: Andreas Ender
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by andreasender6840 » Sep 01, 2015 12:26 pm

Just checked all driver an firmware releases. All at the latest version...

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Sep 01, 2015 12:44 pm

Then, it's high time to contact our support team for closer investigation. Thanks.

andreasender6840
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2015 8:35 am
Full Name: Andreas Ender
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by andreasender6840 » Sep 01, 2015 1:04 pm

I have an active Support Case [ID# 01005840].

Latest status update: "This is a not supported setup so we can´t give you any support".....

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Sep 01, 2015 1:24 pm

Don't you have a Windows-based machine at hand to which library can be connected temporarily just to find out the root cause of the experienced behaviour?

andreasender6840
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 18, 2015 8:35 am
Full Name: Andreas Ender
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by andreasender6840 » Sep 09, 2015 6:29 am

Now we have the controller and tape connected to a windows 10 workstation.

Backup works fine last night. After a fullbackup at the weekend we can report a little bit more.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Sep 09, 2015 12:59 pm

Hmm, I'm not even sure how well our tape server components can work with Windows 10, as they have been created at the time when the said OS wasn't available, and haven't been tested against it. Thanks.

pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 568
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

[MERGED] Why keep leaving 100Gb+ free tape space?

Post by pkelly_sts » Jul 04, 2016 9:35 am

What on earth is the point in consistently keeping >100Gb left on tapes?

I don't think I've EVER seen a Veeam tape with <101Gb free space left on it - why?

I've just had a backup sitting for 12hrs waiting for a tape (the backup was much larger than it should have been but I'll save that for another post/ticket) when all it had left to complete was *14Gb* and the tape that was reported "full" had 107.3Gb free space on it!!! The job even KNEW there was only 14Gb left to write as it knew the used / remaining sized/percentages.

Seriously annoying!

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by v.eremin » Jul 04, 2016 10:16 am

Honestly, we're not responsible for handling tape free space logic, here we rely on information returned by drive/library. So, it might be worth checking tape device firmware, patches, etc. and ask our support team for assistance, in case nothing helps. Thanks.

pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 568
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by pkelly_sts » Jul 04, 2016 2:18 pm

I could understand the logic if the tape is being reported as "Full" but it isn't, even Veeam is reporting the free space in 100's of GB. I don't necessarily expect every byte of space to be consumed but 100Gb in our case is generally around 4 days worth of incrementals!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6575
Liked: 649 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Tapes are not completely filled

Post by Shestakov » Jul 04, 2016 4:26 pm

Paul, I see your point. In general space left on tape depends on its vendor since different vendors have different regulations, some ask Veeam to stop writing when certain percentage is left on the tape, some when certain amount of GBs.
What is your tape vendor by the way? Is that LTO-7?
Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests