v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Everything about backing up to tape

v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Peter_Riederer » Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:47 pm

Hi there,

we currently installed the new Veeam V7 (7.0.0.690) on a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 Server. The Server (Dell T320) has an IBM Ultrium 6 HH Tape Drive (LTO-6 Internal Tape Drive with Controller) with Firmware D2D3 and Driver IBMTape.x64_w08_6233_WHQL_Cert installed. Inventoring tapes works fine, but i cannot eject them. The button for eject Tape is greyed out. If i do a manual eject by pressing the eject-button on the tape drive, the tape will be removed. But the Device still shows a loaded tape. If i enter the next tape and do an inventory scan, i first get an error that the tape was removed manually and the inventory job is canceld, but when i start a second inventory job the tape will be scanned.

Is there an option to activate the eject function, or is there a workaround for ejecting the tape via Veeam Backup & Replication Software?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Regards

Peter
Peter_Riederer
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Full Name: Peter Riederer

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:49 pm

Hi, Peter.

Please be aware that the procedure called “Eject tape” doesn’t pull out a given medium from a library but rather places it into a slot. By design, this functionality doesn’t exist in case of standalone drives and neither does automatic tape detection.

So, the only option you have is to remove a tape manually.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Peter_Riederer » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:30 pm

Hi,
thanks for your quick reply. So standalone Drives are (currently?) not supported and i have to eject the tapes every time manually by pressing the eject button on the tape drive? And ejecting tapes is only supported with Autoloaders / Mediachangers? Sorry, but this cant be an option!

Is a solution/ compatibilty for Standalone Drives coming soon? Cause ejecting a tape manually or after a backup job has finished is a standard option / feature in every other backup software.
Due to this missiong feature the tape support is useless for us and our customers, if i have to do all manually.

BTW: This error appears after i started a file backup job to tape with activated eject option:
19.08.2013 15:47:31 :: Faield to eject tape Error: Automated library not found (id: 47a72775-be4e-4485-b2f3-831e563a1a39).

Thanks.
Peter_Riederer
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Full Name: Peter Riederer

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:06 pm

Peter_Riederer wrote:the tape support is useless for us and our customers, if i have to do all manually

Hi Peter, can you please clarify for my understanding - considering that tape operator needs to be physically present next to the tape drive anyway (in order to manually take the tape medium, and insert the next one), what is the problem of pressing the eject button while you are there anyway? Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:19 pm

Assuming that there is a way to instruct (via some utility) given tape drive to eject tape media, it might be worth creating a scheduled task within which the tape job will be executed and required instructions (to eject tape media) will be passed to the drive afterwards, once the job is finished.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Peter_Riederer » Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:34 pm

Hello Gostev,

Normally an ejected tape, was an indicator to our customers backup was successful. And a lot of our customers only have some normal office staff, who are changing the tapes without any access to the GUI.

By pressing the eject button veeam doesn't know the tape isn't anymore in the drive, hence the next backup job will fail I think. And If I set up a scheduled inventory scan (if this will be possible of course) before the next backup job starts, it will also terminates cause v7 says the tape is manually removed, as I already noticed today after inventoring the new tapes.

Why isnt it possible to get the eject function working with standalone drives, like backup exec e.g. does?

Thx Peter
Peter_Riederer
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Full Name: Peter Riederer

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:09 pm

Peter_Riederer wrote:And a lot of our customers only have some normal office staff, who are changing the tapes without any access to the GUI.

Are you saying most standalone drives do not have a physical eject button on the device itself?

Peter_Riederer wrote:By pressing the eject button veeam doesn't know the tape isn't anymore in the drive, hence the next backup job will fail I think.

Well, the next backup job will fail in almost every situation but one: if the tape drive has a free tape inserted... and it does not matter if the tape was ejected manually or via the software.

Peter_Riederer wrote:Why isnt it possible to get the eject function working with standalone drives, like backup exec e.g. does?

I guess we just assumed that customers will want to manage standalone drives manually, including manual eject. Otherwise, no problems adding this feature for any tape drive that supports this command.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby davidhodges86 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:51 am 1 person likes this post

In exactly the same boat - a lot of our customers don't ever log on to the server but just change the tape when it pops out. To them if the tape hasn't ejected they have no way of knowing if the backup ran or not so call us.
davidhodges86
Service Provider
 
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:46 pm
Full Name: David Hodges

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:54 am

As far as I’m concerned, there is free tool called IBM Tape Diagnostic Tool (ITDT) that provides multiple functional capabilities that simplify the task of maintaining IBM tape products. In the Standard Edition (ITDT-SE) it is a command line version that is available for most major platforms (Windows, AIX, Linux, Solaris, HP-UX, Mac OS X, I5/OS).

Among other commands accepted by this utility, there is one named “Unload” that can be passed to a tape drive, once the tape job is finished. So, as mentioned earlier, you can write and schedule a simple script that will be responsible for starting a given tape job ("Get-VBRTapeJob, Start-VBRJob") and instructing a tape drive to unload a tape ("\itdt.exe unload").

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Aug 20, 2013 10:55 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks all, I will discuss with the devs if eject can be enabled for standalone drives.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby Peter_Riederer » Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:46 pm

Thank you very much !

ITDT Tool is installed, but hardware is already delivered to customer. If i have time tomorrow i will try this option as a workaround.

BTW:
What is the difference ejecting a tape from a tape library and a standalone drive? the internal drives in the library are the same as the standalone drives are. And librarys have an eject button/option on the front panel too ;)
The Only difference is the driver in my opinion (media changer driver). you either should be able to install the library as a single drive - is then the eject function working, or is it the same if you are using a single drive?
Peter_Riederer
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Full Name: Peter Riederer

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby marksmithuk » Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:53 pm

We are in the same boat here as well. We use the fact that the tape has ejected to show the end users that the job has completed and they are safe to remove the tape. I know email notification could be used but people dont like change do they!

We also dont set retention policies on the tapes and if the tape stays in the drive it can get appended to and the tape runs out of space. If there is a way for the tape to be able to be ejected via the software or via a PS cmdlet that would be perfect.

Hopefully you guys can come up with a fix for this one.
marksmithuk
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Devon, UK
Full Name: Mark Smith

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby sf4692 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:48 pm

same Problem here, would really appreciate this Feature that the tape is automatically ejected and software realizes the tapedrive is empty then.
sf4692
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:44 pm

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby cgrebing » Wed Aug 21, 2013 6:43 am

We have the same situation here with most of our customers with standalone tape drive. They don't log in to the server to see if the backup job finished.
they only look if the tape has ejected otherwise they call us to look if there is something wrong with the backup.
Christian
cgrebing
Service Provider
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: Germany

Re: v7 - Eject Tape option is greyed out

Veeam Logoby marksmithuk » Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:15 am

I like the idea of the work around for the ITDT, but I'm not having much luck. I think I need to run something like ITDT unload but I dont know how to reference the drive itself. Has anyone had any experience with this tool?

Here is what I get when i scan for devices

Code: Select all
C:\ITDT>itdt scan
Scanning SCSI Bus ...
#0 \\.\scsi4: - [ULTRIUM-HH5]-[A9Q2] S/N:1068004268 H4-B0-T3-L0
#1 \\.\scsi4: - [ULTRIUM-HH5]-[B6W1] S/N:1068048375 H4-B0-T4-L0


v.Eremin wrote:As far as I’m concerned, there is free tool called IBM Tape Diagnostic Tool (ITDT) that provides multiple functional capabilities that simplify the task of maintaining IBM tape products. In the Standard Edition (ITDT-SE) it is a command line version that is available for most major platforms (Windows, AIX, Linux, Solaris, HP-UX, Mac OS X, I5/OS).



If no one has any experience I will try to talk to the support guys for the tape drive to see if they can help
marksmithuk
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Devon, UK
Full Name: Mark Smith

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests