Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - WHY ?

Discussions specific to tape backups

Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - WHY ?

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 10:15 am

Excuseme

Im writing for a problem with my company tape storage.
We have one tape library used with Veeam Backup 9.0

The library is simple, only two magazines, each one with 12 slots ( 11 tapes + 1 clear tape ), generally during tapes following your guide, once all tapes are recognized we mark all as "free" and after we assigne the own production pool.

Each backup job is scheduled as one to week.
And generally after the tapes changing the situation works fine for some weeks.
After Veeam ask me to insert a valid tape, although still there various tape almost empty ( es. 2.1 or 1.9 or 1.4TB free to 2.3 of total capacity ).

Image

Image

When the total size of job result to be 1.8TB, so the major parts of these tapes should be sufficient.
So, why Veem continue to ask me to insert a valid tapes when still there almost free tapes ???

Regards
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 12:33 pm

Hi Paolo and welcome to the community!

Can you share the configuration of media set?
Also, have you enabled Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing?
Last but not least, I'd recommend you to update your Veeam B&R ideally to 9.5 upd3. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 980
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 1:03 pm

Thank you for answer

For media set configuration you means this ? :

Image

"Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing" is unchecked
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 1:44 pm

Yes, that's the root cause of the issue you have, since the tapes with a free space belong to the previously created media set.
Switch to "Do not create, always continue..." should do the trick.
Please keep in mind that you should mark them as free or erase data after you change the media set config. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 980
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 3:06 pm

So after i change the configuration i must to erase all tapes written until now
right ?

The voice "Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing" must be unselected?
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 3:50 pm

Yes, however, it's not necessary to erase data, you can mark them as free or put them into Free media pool.
Parallel processing increases resource utilization by spreading separate backup chains across several tapes, if it needed you can enable that option. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 980
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Mon May 21, 2018 8:19 am

Thank you for answer

Can i ask you what is the difference between create and not create a new media pool for each sessions ?
I've already read the manual but is not clear enough, i have two questions :



1 ) From the guide : "Veeam Backup & Replication will produce a separate set of tapes for each tape backup session", this in practise what means ? What happen when the sets are not separate ?

2 ) what i understand reading the guide is that using "not create" mode the library recycles the tapes when finish the space, this is right or uncorrect ?
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby lyapkost » Mon May 21, 2018 9:59 am

Hi Paolo.

Every media set is either opened or closed. Tape job can append backup to a tape only if it's the last written tape in opened media set. Option 'create every backup session' closes all opened media sets in target media pool when tape job starts so the job needs a new (free or expired) tape to start writing.

1. If all backups are written to the single media set you cannot physically split backups since several different chains (or backup jobs) are written to the single tape. Options 'create every backup session' or 'create daily' are useful if, for example, you export your tapes to an offline location.
2. Option 'do not create' doesn't close media set after backup to tape job is started so it may append backups to the last written tape.

Also note that if media set is closed, it cannot be opened again. If a tape is marked as free and catalogued, it's media set is closed. If tape job cannot write to the last tape, for example, it's offline or write protected, the job opens a new media set and closes the old one.
lyapkost
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Konstantin

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Mon May 21, 2018 10:27 am

Thank you for answer

Options 'create every backup session' or 'create daily' are useful if, for example, you export your tapes to an offline location.

The problem is just that.

My requirements are :
- When the tape library finish the available space, the current tape set must be brought outside.
- And each sets ( entire set, not single tapes ) must be usable to restore the entire content.

So i dont know if the "not create new media pool" mode is valid as option for this.
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby lyapkost » Mon May 21, 2018 11:19 am

When the tape library finish the available space

What do you mean by that? A single tape or the whole library tapes' space (11* 2.3 Tb)?

The answer depends on the amount of your data and jobs' schedule. For example, you may select 'create new media set daily every Monday' so all your weekly data is placed to a separarte set of tapes.
lyapkost
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Konstantin

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Mon May 21, 2018 11:46 am

And i already start a session every sunday but like this i found some tapes little used.
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests