Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - WHY ?

Discussions specific to tape backups

Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - WHY ?

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 10:15 am

Excuseme

Im writing for a problem with my company tape storage.
We have one tape library used with Veeam Backup 9.0

The library is simple, only two magazines, each one with 12 slots ( 11 tapes + 1 clear tape ), generally during tapes following your guide, once all tapes are recognized we mark all as "free" and after we assigne the own production pool.

Each backup job is scheduled as one to week.
And generally after the tapes changing the situation works fine for some weeks.
After Veeam ask me to insert a valid tape, although still there various tape almost empty ( es. 2.1 or 1.9 or 1.4TB free to 2.3 of total capacity ).

Image

Image

When the total size of job result to be 1.8TB, so the major parts of these tapes should be sufficient.
So, why Veem continue to ask me to insert a valid tapes when still there almost free tapes ???

Regards
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 12:33 pm

Hi Paolo and welcome to the community!

Can you share the configuration of media set?
Also, have you enabled Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing?
Last but not least, I'd recommend you to update your Veeam B&R ideally to 9.5 upd3. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 978
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 1:03 pm

Thank you for answer

For media set configuration you means this ? :

Image

"Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing" is unchecked
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 1:44 pm

Yes, that's the root cause of the issue you have, since the tapes with a free space belong to the previously created media set.
Switch to "Do not create, always continue..." should do the trick.
Please keep in mind that you should mark them as free or erase data after you change the media set config. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 978
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby nickname89 » Fri May 18, 2018 3:06 pm

So after i change the configuration i must to erase all tapes written until now
right ?

The voice "Media Sets Creation with Parallel Processing" must be unselected?
nickname89
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:42 am
Full Name: Paolo Rossi

Re: Veeam - Insert a valid tape even if there are alread - W

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Fri May 18, 2018 3:50 pm

Yes, however, it's not necessary to erase data, you can mark them as free or put them into Free media pool.
Parallel processing increases resource utilization by spreading separate backup chains across several tapes, if it needed you can enable that option. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 978
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests