Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby compendius » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:23 am 2 people like this post

Hi,

A feature request -

We have baremetal blades that have bonded LACP cards on a VLAN trunk.
If we want to restore a blade by booting from the Veeam ISO, the network manager does not give enough functionality to
get on the network to fetch the backup image from an NFS server.

Having to reconfigure switches to restore a blade is not realistic/practical.

A product that achieves this is Clonezilla by giving you access to the CLI so you can manually configure the networking.
This kind of flexibility would be great in Veeam
compendius
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:32 am

Hi,

That's a good feature request. Thank you for your feedback!
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2964
Liked: 241 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby micy » Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:30 pm

I have tried to boot from ISO on VM VMware machine with the VMXNET3 NIC but ISO does not have a driver for this one. Which NICs are supported?
Thanks.
micy
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:05 pm

Are you sure about this? The machine I've used in my lab to do all the blog posts is a vmware VM with a vmxnet3 nic, and it works.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5004
Liked: 1311 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby micy » Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:17 pm

That is OK now. In the first I set up the static IP, NIC had "no cable", I went back then to the networking again and the NIC had IP. Now I can execute ping on it.
What NICs are supported?
Thanks.
micy
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:35 am

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:02 pm

What NICs are supported?
E1000 based, vmxnet, vmxnet2, vmxnet3. Other NICs that are supported by 4.3.4 kernel should work fine, though no extensive testing has been conducted.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2964
Liked: 241 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Feature request - Advanced networking booting with ISO

Veeam Logoby tharonald » Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:27 pm

+1 i also would like this feature, i also have a blade infrastructure and i cannot restore without editing the port configuration because vlan tagging is not possible while in linux it is quite easy to accomplish
tharonald
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:33 pm
Full Name: Ronald van Atten


Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests