Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Backup agent for Linux servers and workstations on-premises or in the public cloud

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:39 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, I have a native RAID (onboard device) activated on the Linux system, not in the Windows one.
As it's been stated before - Beta is not guaranteed to be fast and stable with a built-in HW RAID.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2884
Liked: 236 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby pama » Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:51 pm

Thank you, I will look forward for a stable version!

BR
Andrea
pama
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:24 pm

Besides the fact that it may not be stable enough yet, I did check the logs.

I notice cgroups are enabled and keep killing your veeam backup process. I guess this is preconfigured on the system. Removing cgroups (control groups) will probably resolve the issue why the job keeps failing.

Furthermore I noticed the following Cannot store data to snapshot. Not enough space. This however could be related to a known bug.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1439
Liked: 318 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby pama » Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:27 am

vmniels wrote:Besides the fact that it may not be stable enough yet, I did check the logs.

I notice cgroups are enabled and keep killing your veeam backup process. I guess this is preconfigured on the system. Removing cgroups (control groups) will probably resolve the issue why the job keeps failing.

Furthermore I noticed the following Cannot store data to snapshot. Not enough space. This however could be related to a known bug.



Thanks a lot for your deep investigation.
I don't use cgroups. I think they are part of installation.
About free space, should this be related to inodes? even if I have free ones....
Here is my disk occupation:

Code: Select all
# df -i -h
Filesystem                   Inodes IUsed IFree IUse% Mounted on
udev                           465K   486  465K    1% /dev
tmpfs                          478K   605  477K    1% /run
/dev/mapper/nvidia_fbcfiaca1    15M  190K   15M    2% /
tmpfs                          478K     1  478K    1% /dev/shm
tmpfs                          478K     8  478K    1% /run/lock
tmpfs                          478K    18  478K    1% /sys/fs/cgroup
cgmfs                          478K    14  478K    1% /run/cgmanager/fs
tmpfs                          478K     4  478K    1% /run/user/0

and
Code: Select all
# df -h
Filesystem                    Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev                          1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs                         382M   11M  372M   3% /run
/dev/mapper/nvidia_fbcfiaca1  226G   57G  158G  27% /
tmpfs                         1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                         5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
tmpfs                         1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
cgmfs                         100K     0  100K   0% /run/cgmanager/fs
tmpfs                         382M     0  382M   0% /run/user/0

I have never seen "tmpfs" before Veeam :shock:
Thank you,
Andrea
pama
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Jul 21, 2016 12:47 pm

tmpfs is nothing to worry about, this is a common name for a temporary file storage facility.

In regards to the free space, this can be related to the snapshot overflow known issue.

Cgroups is loaded in your server and this happens quite often to prevent servers from completely crashing resulting in a hard reboot/reset. However it also makes sure your cpu is throttled lowering the CPU usage and thus power usage in the long run ;-). The reason why this is loaded is also related to systemd (default nowadays for many distro's).

You can try to disable it temporary to see if the backup continues however I guess the space error will come back up.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1439
Liked: 318 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby pama » Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:09 pm

vmniels wrote:You can try to disable it temporary to see if the backup continues however I guess the space error will come back up.


I think now I will wait for a second beta, or for a stable version...I bet it will released soon, isn't it? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
pama
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:02 pm
Full Name: Andrea de Lutti

Re: Terribly, terribly slow!!!

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:10 pm 1 person likes this post

When it's ready ;-). We are still collecting feedback and improving it.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1439
Liked: 318 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Linux



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests