Agent Restore to VMWare

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Agent Restore to VMWare

Veeam Logoby Wocka » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:09 am

Hello,

I have just trialed a restore of a Win 2008R2 server (running on VMWare) from one of our offices to our data center also running VMWare.
I found this process quite intensive and was wondering if I'm doing this right. From my Veeam B&R Console there is no method to restore the Agent files to a VMWare server, but you can to a Hyper-V Host?

Process:
1. Veeam Agent in branch office is backing up to the data centre.
2. Create a new blank server in VMWare with the same details, including disks and SCSI no#'s.
3. Boot the new VM from the Veeam restore media .iso.
4. Choose bare metal recovery.
5. Load the network drivers, set server IP, map a drive to the veeam.vib files.
6. Select manual restore (advanced), manually map the restore HDD's to the server as this was incorrect using the default method.
7. Let the server restore.
8. Edit the server change the LAN, boot the server.
9. Set the IP address back on server.

The server did restore in the data centre and booted fine. Is there an easier way to do this and is it 100% critical that I map the HDD's the same from one environment to the other?
My next task is to use this method to move / restore a Win Server on XEN to VMWare. The diffewrence is that once the server boots I need to remove all the Citrix drivers etc and install VMWare tools other wise the server BSOD upon boot.
Wocka
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:04 am
Full Name: Warwick Ferguson

Re: Agent Restore to VMWare

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:19 am

Hi Warwick,

Today you indeed need to do this type of procedure (which is a Bare Metal Recovery) since we are not a P2V tool. But there are maybe some things you can simplify?

I wonder (for example) why you need to map a drive to the Veeam backup files? If you boot from the iso, can't you directly browse to the B&R repository? (Maybe you need to give it an IP if there is no DHCP in play but mapping the drive should not be needed)

We are indeed working on a possibility to restore to a hyper-v host and later on restore to VMware will probably come into play also. That is to be decided

One final question: Did you try (from B&R) to restore the backup as VMDK files? That option is called Exporting to Disks

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Agent Restore to VMWare

Veeam Logoby Wocka » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:30 am

Hello Mike,

Thx for the reply.

I mapped the drive simply as this is what it requested. it wasn't pre-populated in the wizard.
Looking at my agent config, I have:
Desitination: Veeam backup Repository
Backup Server: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Backup Repositoy: the name seen in my B&R server

Yes my first attempt was to export the disks as .vmdk. This worked but it only gave me the .vmdk file and no .vmx etc to boot the server within VMWare. hence i tried the approach described.
Wocka
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:04 am
Full Name: Warwick Ferguson

Re: Agent Restore to VMWare

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:32 am

Yes correct,

You will receive the VMDK file but you will still need to create an empty VM in VMware and attach the disks to it.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2983
Liked: 354 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests