Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
karoliss
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Karolis Surkus

Backup job doesn't overwrite old backup file

Post by karoliss »

Hi There,

I am fairly new to Veeam software, so please bear with me.

We are running Veeam Agent on MS Server 2012R2. That server hold backups of our VM's and it all add's up to about 1.4TB and we use 5 (in rotation) 2TB USB drives.
When the initial backup runs, it is all fine and good, but then the next backup a week later will fail due to the fact that the backup is not overwriting the old backup file.

I have "Keep backups for the past 1 days when the computer was running", which I think it is the retention period.

I would appreciate any help.
wishr
Veteran
Liked: 453 times
Full Name: Fedor Maslov

Re: Backup job doesn't overwrite old backup file

Post by wishr »

Hi Karolis,

There was a similar question some time ago. Could you please take a look and let us know if you have any additional questions.

Thanks
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Karolis.
When the initial backup runs, it is all fine and good, but then the next backup a week later will fail due to the fact that the backup is not overwriting the old backup file.
Looks like you are running out of free space, is that correct? What's the error in the job session?
I have "Keep backups for the past 1 days when the computer was running", which I think it is the retention period.
Correct, that's retention value for the agent backup, please clarify how the backup schedule is configured (are you using any backup events or it's just a daily backup)? Any chance you are running periodic full backups? Thanks!
karoliss
Novice

Post by karoliss »

Hi wishr, thank you, I have just read that thread, thank you. It didn't fully clear everything for me.

Dima,