Scenario: machine with 1 physical rive, partitioned 100Mb system 400Gb C: 500Gb D:
Full Backup job is run, target network share, job completes system and C: drive, but we then cancel the job part way through the D: drive, by pressing cancel in the GUI. Job cancels as requested without error.
The network location now contains a small .VBM file and a large (several hundreds of gigs) .VBK file. Presumably the .VBK file contains a valid full backup of the C: drive.
VEEAM Endpoint Backup's restore function [entire volumes mode] sees the backup job but shows blank under the "last backup" and "restore points" columns - so there is nothing selectable to restore from. Our backup is worthless.
My request is: when cancelling a backup that has completed at least one volume successfully, leave the backup files in such a state that this volume CAN be restored. Otherwise, why leave hundreds of gigs of totally worthless .VBK file behind on disk??
Furthermore, this should allow a future backup job to run as an incremental for that volume, using the completed full backup as the starting point.