Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
tthomas1@ebsco.com
Expert
Liked: 10 times
Full Name: Tim Thomas

Changed Block Tracking (CBT)

Post by tthomas1@ebsco.com »

Hello,
I've been using Veeam for several years now to back up a few physical Windows servers and a small number of VMs. For each of these, I enable CBT based on what I read when I first configured Veeam - it appears to improve various processes, with the main downside being that reboots are required during every upgrade. I verified the VMs are running the correct machine version.

I recently heard a Veeam technician say that there's no need to enable CBT unless your content contains large database files. I've not specifically seen that documented anywhere but thought I would throw the question out here. Is CBT commonly used when backing up physical servers? What about VMs? Any "best practices" that someone can recommend? Thanks in advance!
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2296 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Changed Block Tracking (CBT)

Post by Mildur »

Hello Tim

The Veeam Technician is correct. For Veeam Agent, there are two CBT methods:
- Default CBT mechanism
for NTFS volumes only, leverages Master File Table to track changed blocks

- Veeam Changed Block Tracking Driver
Works for all filesystem types and is the recommended for large databases

For VMware VMs, there is only one type of CBT. It works out of the box and does not require special drivers:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=120

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
tthomas1@ebsco.com
Expert

Thank you Fabian! I should have clarified that for the VMs, we don't have vCenter added to Veeam Backup & Replication. We just have the agent installed on the VMs, so they are basically backed up the same way as a physical server. Does the same advice apply?