difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and vee

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:03 pm

Yep, Rene is absolutely correct.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3649
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:16 pm

does VEB support server 2016 or do we need to wait for the VAW 2.0 to go GM?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 773
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:20 pm

Frank,

VAW 2.0 will support 2016. VEB 1.5 not.

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3649
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:16 pm

going into production tomorrow, hopefully we ca soon be backed up :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 773
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby rbarbaro » Thu May 18, 2017 3:34 am

Mike Resseler wrote:Through VAC you can assign or deploy configurations remotely to the servers / workstations "


Mike, are you saying that if we have VAC we can still deploy configurations to VAW FREE?

Thanks
Raimond
rbarbaro
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 3:22 am
Full Name: Raimond Barbaro

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 31, 2017 10:22 pm

Raimond,

VAC will be able to license free agents but this will require a license file with agent counters added to VAC.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7015
Liked: 507 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby spyderz » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:03 pm

So far my experience with VEB has been pretty good. I'm glad to hear they have come out with a new version. My main concern or hope for this product is that configurations can be managed from VBR.
We have about 4 physical severs we backup with VEB, and soon to add about 4 more. We only backup these physical servers once a month after we have updated them. Scheduled backups are turned off on VEB and we have to manually connect to each machine and initialize each backup to our repository.

With this new version, can I login to my Veeam Server, hosting VBR, right click the VAW jobs that show in there, and click "run job"? As of now right clicking any one of those VEB jobs showing in VBR gives you no options to choose from. In all honestly besides it showing up in VBR as reminder that's its installed on a server, is completely useless. It's like it mocks you. All VM jobs can be configured, restored, and what not. But the VEB jobs cant be. Another big thing is that I like to specify on my VM backups to only keep 1 copy on my server before overwriting the next days. These are written to tape afterwards. Since Veeam is incapable of backing up directly to tape, I'm forced to use disk space a temporary medium. But VEB, continues to create incremental. I'd rather a new full backup each time if run it, overwriting the existing. My first restore with an Veeam incremental failed that it couldn't decompress LZ4 block. Deleted full/incremental, ran full, worked perfectly.
spyderz
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:45 pm
Full Name: alan simms

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat Jun 03, 2017 10:38 pm

configurations can be managed from VBR

This functionality is planned for a next Veeam B&R version.
With this new version, can I login to my Veeam Server, hosting VBR, right click the VAW jobs that show in there, and click "run job"?

Now Veeam B&R is capable of Enabling / Disabling jobs and it cant start the job.
But VEB, continues to create incremental.

New Veeam Agent for Windows 20 can create periodic full backup (either active fulls or synthetic fulls)
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7015
Liked: 507 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby alo » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:32 pm

Hello baber, if I understand the above details...

You would need to use VAC if you want the swiftly easy deployment to numerous endpoints (now known as VAW). Mike did mention above that there are a few options.

1. Free "Veeam Endpoint Backup" VEB (now the free VAW agent) - is purely a manual install and backup process.
2. The licensed versions of VAW (Workstation and/or Server) - add more functionality and can still be installed manually per system BUT it can also be more elegantly rolled out using Veeam Availability Console (VAC) or SCCM (NOT Veeam B&R).

RE Mike:
"Through VAC you can assign or deploy configurations remotely to the servers / workstations and if you don't have VAC but you do have the paid version, then you can use a tool such as SCCM or scripts or GPO or ... and use an API (this will be a command switch) to configure it. This means that you create a configuration once, and distribute that configuration during the installation (or afterwards when you want to change the configuration).

Note that VBR is NOT used here. VBR is only used when you want to STORE your backups on a VBR repository, but there is NO push or configuration possibility. That is through VAC or through the custom API"

For more information on the version comparison - go here: https://www.veeam.com/windows-endpoint- ... -free.html / https://www.veeam.com/veeam_agent_windo ... son_ds.pdf
For FAQs on VAW: https://www.veeam.com/windows-backup-agent-faq.html
alo
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:20 pm
Full Name: Adrian Lowe

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:55 pm 1 person likes this post

Adrian,

Free "Veeam Endpoint Backup" VEB (now the free VAW agent) - is purely a manual install and backup process.

You still can installation in silent mode for free edition, thus deployment via third party tools like SCCM is possible. That said, job configuration remains manual.
The licensed versions of VAW (Workstation and/or Server) - add more functionality and can still be installed manually per system BUT it can also be more elegantly rolled out using Veeam Availability Console (VAC) or SCCM (NOT Veeam B&R).

Correct, since paid version has Configuration API that allows to script the backup job configuration import.
VBR is NOT used here. VBR is only used when you want to STORE your backups on a VBR repository, but there is NO push or configuration possibility. That is through VAC or through the custom API

Small correction - upcoming Veeam B&R Update 3 will have Agent Management feature on board :wink:
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 7015
Liked: 507 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby alo » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:47 am

Excellent.

Thanks Dima...

One more question... does VAW provide backup for "SQL cluster" support for physical and VMs? I believe it doesn't today...

Many thanks in advance,
Adrian
alo
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:20 pm
Full Name: Adrian Lowe

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby jmmarton » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:10 pm

If you mean SQL clusters using Windows failover cluster, that's coming in the agent update that's a part of Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 3 as long as you're integrating the agent with VBR.

Joe
jmmarton
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1010
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Full Name: Joe Marton

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:02 am

Joe is correct,

The next update coming along with VBR 9.5 update 3 (I believe it is will be VAW 2.1) will give you windows failover cluster (traditional) and SQL always on support also

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3649
Liked: 402 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest