difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and vee

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:03 pm

Yep, Rene is absolutely correct.
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3339
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:16 pm

does VEB support server 2016 or do we need to wait for the VAW 2.0 to go GM?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 728
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:20 pm

Frank,

VAW 2.0 will support 2016. VEB 1.5 not.

Cheers
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3339
Liked: 379 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby frankive » Wed Feb 01, 2017 6:16 pm

going into production tomorrow, hopefully we ca soon be backed up :)
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 728
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby rbarbaro » Thu May 18, 2017 3:34 am

Mike Resseler wrote:Through VAC you can assign or deploy configurations remotely to the servers / workstations "


Mike, are you saying that if we have VAC we can still deploy configurations to VAW FREE?

Thanks
Raimond
rbarbaro
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 3:22 am
Full Name: Raimond Barbaro

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 31, 2017 10:22 pm

Raimond,

VAC will be able to license free agents but this will require a license file with agent counters added to VAC.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6489
Liked: 452 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby spyderz » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:03 pm

So far my experience with VEB has been pretty good. I'm glad to hear they have come out with a new version. My main concern or hope for this product is that configurations can be managed from VBR.
We have about 4 physical severs we backup with VEB, and soon to add about 4 more. We only backup these physical servers once a month after we have updated them. Scheduled backups are turned off on VEB and we have to manually connect to each machine and initialize each backup to our repository.

With this new version, can I login to my Veeam Server, hosting VBR, right click the VAW jobs that show in there, and click "run job"? As of now right clicking any one of those VEB jobs showing in VBR gives you no options to choose from. In all honestly besides it showing up in VBR as reminder that's its installed on a server, is completely useless. It's like it mocks you. All VM jobs can be configured, restored, and what not. But the VEB jobs cant be. Another big thing is that I like to specify on my VM backups to only keep 1 copy on my server before overwriting the next days. These are written to tape afterwards. Since Veeam is incapable of backing up directly to tape, I'm forced to use disk space a temporary medium. But VEB, continues to create incremental. I'd rather a new full backup each time if run it, overwriting the existing. My first restore with an Veeam incremental failed that it couldn't decompress LZ4 block. Deleted full/incremental, ran full, worked perfectly.
spyderz
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:45 pm
Full Name: alan simms

Re: difference between Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows and

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sat Jun 03, 2017 10:38 pm

configurations can be managed from VBR

This functionality is planned for a next Veeam B&R version.
With this new version, can I login to my Veeam Server, hosting VBR, right click the VAW jobs that show in there, and click "run job"?

Now Veeam B&R is capable of Enabling / Disabling jobs and it cant start the job.
But VEB, continues to create incremental.

New Veeam Agent for Windows 20 can create periodic full backup (either active fulls or synthetic fulls)
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6489
Liked: 452 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Previous

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests