Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
Chyrooo
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 25, 2019 11:19 pm

Editing job in Free version

Post by Chyrooo » May 25, 2019 11:24 pm

So I created a selective backup of files on my E and D drive, but now I want to combine my entire C drive into the backup. When I edit the job and add my C drive, then run the job, it starts to run the ENTIRE job again. Is there any way to just add the C drive into the already backed up files? Otherwise it takes like 16 hours.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2619
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Editing job in Free version

Post by nielsengelen » May 26, 2019 9:48 pm

This is normal behaviour, since the files from the other drives are already backed up, they will be skipped unless changed/modified. This will be an incremental backup for the files on D and E but a full backup for those on C.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

jdrch
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2018 2:41 am
Contact:

Re: Editing job in Free version

Post by jdrch » May 28, 2019 10:18 pm 1 person likes this post

Jobs are always run in their entirety. Think of yourself as Veeam, and the job being a list of things to put into a cart every time you're asked to load the cart. If someone adds something to the list, you check the entire list, but only add the things that aren't already in the cart to the cart. The things on the list already in the cart are marked off as complete because you checked them, but not because you actually physically put them in the cart again.

In other words, Veeam checking a drive and folder for changes != Veeam retransferring the contents of said drive and folder. It's just making sure that the backup actually contains the things it should.

Hopefully that makes sense.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests