Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
deubelm
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 10:19 am
Contact:

Failover Cluster backup

Post by deubelm » Jul 04, 2018 10:28 am

Hello,
we want to use Veeam B&R to backup our Windows fileserver. The fileserver are 3 node Windows Failover Cluster.
Once in a while we are faced with full backups because of the message "Full backup is required for cluster disk <Clusterdisk>: cluster membership was changed". We could find any explanation what it means and what might be the cause.
We checked the cluster has not failed over.

Regards
Marcus

deubelm
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by deubelm » Jul 05, 2018 5:09 am

I meant: We could not find any explanation what it means and what might be the cause.

Nobody has ever encountered this message "Full backup is required for cluster disk <Clusterdisk>: cluster membership was changed" while backing up Windows cluster?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Jul 05, 2018 9:00 pm

Hi,

This message should be displayed when failover was performed. If you confirm that failover was not perfromed, kindly, open a support case to investigate the root case. Please do not forget to share the case ID. Thank you in advance.

deubelm
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by deubelm » Jul 06, 2018 5:12 pm

Dima P. wrote:Hi,

This message should be displayed when failover was performed. If you confirm that failover was not perfromed, kindly, open a support case to investigate the root case. Please do not forget to share the case ID. Thank you in advance.
Thanks Dima for the reply. So can you confirm that a full backup is triggered every time a fail over is performed?

deubelm
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 04, 2018 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by deubelm » Jul 11, 2018 8:55 am

Hi Dima,
is it planed to correct this behavior performing a full backup if a failover has occured? It prevents us to use the cluster function.

chrislott
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2019 5:18 pm
Full Name: Chris
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by chrislott » Mar 26, 2019 5:19 pm

Dima, did you find a solution for this? We're having this problem with our failover cluster every time it backs up, but we aren't changing memberships or having a failover situation or anything...

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Mar 26, 2019 6:48 pm

Hello and welcome to the community Chris,

This behavior is unexpected, so please submit a support case and share your case ID in this thread. Thank you in advance!

chrislott
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 26, 2019 5:18 pm
Full Name: Chris
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by chrislott » Mar 26, 2019 8:13 pm

My case # is 03476838.. we can't find the cause for this full backup. Our failover cluster has no events or failovers or anything, yet every time we do a backup it gives this message.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Mar 27, 2019 7:40 pm

Chris,

I've discussed this issue with QA team. Full backup might be required only when one of the nodes went down during previous job run, so please keep working with our support team to understand why full backup is performed in your case. Thanks!

egonthier
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 29, 2019 12:12 pm
Full Name: Emilien Gonthier
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by egonthier » May 29, 2019 12:13 pm

Hello,

Same problem for me, did you find a solution?

Regards

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Jun 03, 2019 8:51 pm

Hello Emilien,

Since this behavior might be related to multiple issues pleas raise a support case and share the case id for future reference. Thank you in advance!

lang.matthias
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 30, 2016 5:29 am
Full Name: Matthias Lang
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by lang.matthias » Jun 12, 2019 11:39 am

Hello,

I´ve the same "problem". As Dima already said it was a limitation in Agent GA 2.2 (Important section - https://helpcenter.veeam.com/archive/ba ... pport.html)
"In case a backup task within a Veeam Agent backup job that processes a cluster completes unsuccessfully, Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows will create full backup of all shared disks of the cluster."

My problem is, that if i have an planned downtime for my fileservers for updates,... i switch my cluster packages to other nodes so that they have an max. availability.
At this point i have an problem when the backup needs an full because the filecluster has about 60 TB ;-)

I´m now going to update my agents on 4 filecluster nodes to the actual version (3.0.1.1039) - so is this behavior also in the new Agent?

Best Regards
Matthias

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Jun 12, 2019 2:26 pm

Hello Matthias,
My problem is, that if i have an planned downtime for my fileservers for updates,... i switch my cluster packages to other nodes so that they have an max. availability.
At this point i have an problem when the backup needs an full because the filecluster has about 60 TB
Can you disabled the backup jobs for the time of planned downtime? If yes, next run wont be a full backup but a full read (job might need to read the shared storage due to failover but that wont result into full backup). Cheers!

Tobias K.
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 03, 2019 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Tobias K. » Jul 03, 2019 11:17 am

Hello,

same problem here.
Is there any solution in sight?

Some details about our case: The CBT-driver is installed on the active node in our cluster. The volumes are single drives active only on the current failover role master.
I've created the last full backup after the CBT driver was installed. Still, the incremental backup states that a full backup is needed (same as in first post in this thread).
The incremental was startet just after the full backup finished, so I'm pretty sure the cluster configuration hasn't been changed at all. Never the less, the goal should be for incremental backups to work even if the master role changes from one node to another.

For details about the hardware and OS please extract the information from:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... Clustering
(we haven't found any solution to this problem either...)

Current veeam Support case: #03641047 (I just introduced the problem and added a link to this forum thread).


Best regards
Tobias

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10456
Liked: 850 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Dima P. » Jul 03, 2019 12:59 pm

Hello Tobias,

This issue is being investigated by our support team, so kindly keep working with your engineer and let us know how it goes. Cheers!

Tobias K.
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 03, 2019 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: Failover Cluster backup

Post by Tobias K. » Jul 23, 2019 11:52 am

Hello everyone,

just to inform anyone else regarding this problem: the case has to be closed unsuccessfully.
We're running a file cluster with "storage spaces direct". Although the disks are mounted as local drives with drive letters(instead of cluster-shared-volumes) this is not supported by veeam. We hope for the R&D-Team to implement this feature in future, but sadly we weren't given any ETA for this feature.

Best regards
Tobias

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests