Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
almhenderson
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Alistair Henderson

Merge taking 10+ hours

Post by almhenderson »

Morning All,

I am new to Veeam Agent. Using it to backup photos from my PC to a NAS. I have it scheduled to backup every couple of days, but as this is a home system the PC is not necessarily always on so it doesn't necessarily happen every time. Anyway, yesterday everything was aligned and Veeam started the backup. 10 hours later, it is still running, at the merge step which is only 39% done. It was 37% when I went to bed last night, some 8 hours ago. Doesn't bode well for the completion of the job.

Has anyone got any hints on what could be making this take so long, and what I might do to speed it up? I'm backing up the user documents folder on my PC as well as a photos folder which is about 600Gb. But the contents of that folder don't change much.

Would appreciate any thoughts anyone might have to help me out.

Thanks,
Al.
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 683 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: Merge taking 10+ hours

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Al,
in most of the cases problems with Merge operations are linked to poor Backup Repository(NAS in your case) IO performance, so that would be first thing to check. You can play with kb2014 to check some performance stats up.
Also note that merge of backup files on NAS goes via agent machine, so if you have 100mbps home LAN we will be quite limited in performance here too.
/Cheers!
almhenderson
Novice

Post by almhenderson »