new to endpoint

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

new to endpoint

Veeam Logoby infused » Fri May 13, 2016 12:48 am

so, I just found out about endpoint (been living under a rock).

Can someone just give me a quick rundown few questions:

1. Currently run backup and replication in our DC. Is endpoint installed on the same host as the veeam server?
2. Does it kind of work the same was as B&R where it can output to an existing B&R repository?

If not, how do I make this work, as all my networks are segregated. I use veeam with proxies currently to backup, so there is no way for the vm's to see the repository.
http://www.infused.co.nz - My Blog.
infused
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 93
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am
Full Name: Hayden Kirk

Re: new to endpoint

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Fri May 13, 2016 5:39 am

1. you need to install VEB to the (physical) clients/servers that you want to backup with VEB
2. you can save the backups in VBR repository easily
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: new to endpoint

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 16, 2016 1:44 pm

#1 VEB is a standalone application and can be installed on any machine. For instance, if you want to protect physical VBR you can install VEB on the same machine but that’s not a requirement.

#2 VEB requires a direct connection to the repository because it plays the role of a data mover (i.e. VEB is its own proxy).
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests