Recreatedatabase Question

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:49 pm

If we manually reset the database using the Recreatedatabase registry key, will old backup files no longer be usable?
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:53 am

Hi BCT-Tech,

Actually, all your backups will still be usable. For example, imagine that you have all of your backups stored on a portable harddrive. Suddenly your computer dies, get stolen or whatever so you kind of lost your database :-). In that case, any computer that has VEB / VAW running can be used to point to the backup files and start doing restores (including Veeam Recovery Media for potential BMR)

Hope it helps
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3490
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:57 am

Oh, forget an additional point to mention. When you start from scratch, be aware that those old backups won't be in a retention schedule anymore. So you probably will need to delete them manually after a while. I am not sure however what VAW is going to do when you point your backup destination back to the same location. It might actually pick up the VBM information and continue from there (but again, I am not so sure)
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3490
Liked: 390 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:49 am

Recreatedatabase registry key is used by support team to delete the backup history from the application. Frankly speaking it’s should be used only when you work with our support guys on some issue.

It’s true – database recreation won’t affect your backup files.

After recreating DB you can map backup job to existing backup chain by pointing the job to the backup location. Backup chain will be imported and mapped to the job.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:38 pm

Thank you. This is what I meant by still usable.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:35 pm

Dima P. wrote:After recreating DB you can map backup job to existing backup chain by pointing the job to the backup location. Backup chain will be imported and mapped to the job.

Recreated the database successfully, and have a brand new config. Tried pointing the backup to the existing backup location, and Endpoint did not import the backup chain or map to the job. It created a new folder in the same location with the same name but an "_1" at the end of it and put the new backup files there?
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:54 pm

Try to point backup job to the exact backup folder: Z:\Backup\AllBackups\Backup Job XXX

Here is a good post about seeding.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:59 pm

Dima P. wrote:Try to point backup job to the exact backup folder: Z:\Backup\AllBackups\Backup Job XXX


We have Veeam pointed to the original shared folder: \\192.168.24.10\backups\

Veeam automatically creates a subfolder called "Backup Job ServerName" and the backup files are stored there.

Are you saying we need an additional subfolder?
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:01 pm

Try to point agent to Backup Job Server Name subfolder instead of a root folder.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby BCT-Tech » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:03 pm

We tried that first, and Veeam created a new subfolder called "Backup Job ServerName" under the original "Backup Job ServerName" subfolder.
BCT-Tech
Service Provider
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:13 pm

Got it, thanks. Might be caused by the time stamp issue you mentioned in the separate thread - VAW/VEB needs to verify that backup is identical to current machine in order to continue the backup chain. If that’s critical, kindly, check with support team why mapping is not working.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Recreatedatabase Question

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:00 pm

BCT-Tech,

Had a conversation with our QA team today regarding the recreatedatabasy key behavior. It appears that mapping can only be performed when database contains the same job ID as your backup file. Speaking frank, you can map backup file only to existing VAW/VEB instance but it won’t work after database recreation or bran new agent installation.

As a result, we came to the conclusion that manual mapping (similar to VBR) is required and we plan to add it the next VAW versions.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6739
Liked: 482 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest