Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:53 pm

I have a full system backup scheduled every day, I accidentally left an external USB drive plugged in and it proceeded to backup the drive subsequently eating up most of the space on the backup destination.
How do I remove specific data? Is it as simple as deleting the .vib file that contains the data? Will this corrupt the 'chain' in any way?
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:41 pm

Hi jcpro,
Deleting incremental backup file makes all the subsequent increments non-operational. That being said you can delete an incremental restore point in the middle of the chain and then you have to delete all the subsequent increments too. Last but not the least, it is safe to delete the latest incremental backup in the chain.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:14 pm

I removed the last file in the backup freeing up quite a bit of space and let it perform it's next regularly scheduled backup, however, it's attempting to do a full complete backup and the backup destination is running out of space again. How can I prevent this behavior and let it just do incrementals like....it's supposed to do.
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:31 pm

You removed only the latest .vib right?
it's attempting to do a full complete backup and the backup destination is running out of space again

Any chance, you've changed the backup source or backup destination?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:11 pm

I removed the latest .vib but it keeps trying to create a .vbk
Backup destination is the same, backup source is as it should be sans the eSata drive I had plugged in that caused this problem to begin with.
You can see in the image below it's re-creating the .vbk every time the scheduled backup job runs now but it fails because I don't have enough storage space for another full backup.

Image
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:18 pm

jcpro,
Thanks. Since that does not look like expected behavior could you please open a support case thru the Endpoint’s Control Panel > Support > Technical Support and let the support team check debug logs.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:10 pm

What information is included in the support logs that are transmitted?
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:48 am

All debugs logs that VEB generates.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Oct 11, 2015 11:49 am

Hello jcpro,

It seems we found a misbehavior in the logic thanks to your case: VEB compares the existing chain with the metadata file and if any restore points are missing (even the latest incremental file) it makes a new full to avoid possible data corruption.

This behavior is unexpected and we will try to fix it in the upcoming releases. Meanwhile, I am sorry for sharing misleading information.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:11 pm

Thanks for the reply on this, good to know the devs are aware.
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:29 pm

This problem does not appear to have been resolved. I once again accidentally left an eSATA drive plugged in and Veeam Endpoint Backup tried to incorporate it into the nightly backup.
Deleting the newly created .VBK file and subsequent re-running of the backup job results in an entirely new .VBK being created. This is extremely frustrating because this essentially nullifies all previously created backups and forcing the creating of an entirely new backup chain!
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:16 pm

Indeed, eSATA devices are treated as an internal drives. VEB tried to backup the said drive because you are running Entire PC backup mode, right?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby jcpro » Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:35 pm

That is correct.
jcpro
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Removing data from backup that shouldn't be there

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Dec 20, 2015 7:32 pm

Thanks! To ensure this won’t happen again switch to volume level backup and select only particular volumes as a source.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests