Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
tjrgsa
Lurker
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Thomas Reuther

Shrink required prior to backup of dynamic volume

Post by tjrgsa » 2 people like this post

Case ID: 05042081

Hello Everyone,

I actually figured out an acceptable workaround to my problem but the rep suggested I post my findings here as well.

I ran into an issue when trying to do a bare metal restore of a dynamic disk to the same hardware. I'm new to Veeam and have an experimental server (Windows Server 2019) that I was using to try out the product. I have a couple of NVMe drives that I want to mirror which contain the OS, and although it's not my area of expertise my understanding is that in this particular case a hardware controller isn't the way to go. So, I setup the mirror in Windows' disk management and wanted to simply try backing up the server as-is and restoring it to the exact same hardware ("Entire Computer" backup mode). No virtual machines yet, just physical.