Stupid question....

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:16 pm

I have a full backup every week and delete the old backup chains/restore points manually but when I start the restore function, the old restore points are still visible. How can I delete the old (and non-exiting) restore points from the database?

Thanks...Dick
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:52 pm

You mean you can still see the previous sessions? Regardless of the files being there or not? This is normal behaviour in the interface.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1553
Liked: 339 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:08 pm

Yes, I can still see the previous backup points but they do not exist anymore as I deleted the backup chain(s) from disk. Isn't it a bit strange this is normal behaviour and those old backup points cannot be deleted from the Veeam Backup database?
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:18 pm

The database is very small so the impact isn't huge. The restore buttons are greyed out as well. In all our products we keep the history of jobs.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1553
Liked: 339 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:58 am

Hi Dick,
Is there a reason why you delete those manually? Wouldn't it be better to change your retention range so that they are deleted automatically?

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3287
Liked: 365 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:24 am

Hello Mike,

Here comes the next stupid question.. :D ....where can I set the retention range providing I want to start a new active Full backup every Friday? After starting a new Full Active Backup, the old backup chains are not deleted. I cannot find any option to specify how many Full Backup chains I want to keep.

Note that I'm using Veeam Agent fro Windows...

Regards...Dick
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:10 am

The idea of the agent is that we create a full and then incrementals which are merged into the full backup upon reaching the retention. However under the 'advanced' options under your storage settings you can enable "Create active full backuyp periodically" where you can set it up to every week.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1553
Liked: 339 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:19 pm

That is what I did and the Active Full Backup did not start yesterday and only an incremental was carried out while I expected a Full Backup. So, I had the same problem as already mentioned by user tang: veeam-agent-for-windows-f33/synthetic-full-backup-not-running-t42086.html
Unfortunately I cannot see if he has opened a ticket.

Now, providing the periodical Full Backup mechanism would work properly (which in my case it did not), how can I set the number of full backup chains to be kept as in other disk backup programs (like Macrium Reflect and Acronis True Image..). As far as I can see, this option does not exist as the program is based upon a full backup and then only incrementals.
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:28 am

If the active full didn't run please open a support case for investigation why it didn't run. Which is your backup target?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1553
Liked: 339 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:09 pm

The backup target is a second HDD in my PC. After a backup has finished, the just created files will be copied automatically to my NAS (using BVCKUP2) to have a second backup set.
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:19 pm

No need to reply anymore as I have deleted VAW for the moment. I'll come back when:
1) It is out of Beta and
2) Has the option to set how many backup sets you want to keep and
3) You can also make backups when booting from the recovery media (more users have requested for this option).

With regards to #2: maybe it is there but I haven't been able to find it.
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Mon Apr 10, 2017 5:27 am

For #2: When you configure the backup job, you will see at the step that you choose the backup storage (local storage/ NAS/ ...) Restore points to keep on disk. This is the amount of backups restore points that you want to keep. By default this is 14 if I am not mistaken
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3287
Liked: 365 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:07 pm

Hello Mike, correct me if I'm wrong but that parameter indicates the number of incremental backup points before the oldest incremental is going to be merged with the full backup. Where can I find the parameter to specify how many complete periodic backup sets I want to keep? Example: I want to start a new Full Periodic Backup set every Friday and I want to keep 2 Full backup sets, i.e, 2 weeks of backup, how can I specify this......or is this something that is going to be introduced in the final 2.0 release version?
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:05 am

If you are using the workstation or server edition (not the free one) of VAW 2.0 beta you can set that in the advanced backup settings. If I am not mistaken it is at the same tab of the amount of restore points. So in that case you choose 14 as the # of restore points you want, and then click on advanced and choose to create active full (or synthetic full) on Friday
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3287
Liked: 365 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Stupid question....

Veeam Logoby cloggy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:24 pm

So, if I set the restore points to 7 and make a full active backup every Friday, does that mean that I end up with 7 sets of full backup sets? Note that in the Advanced Backup settings, you can only specify when new Full Active Backup is started, nothing about the number of sets you want to keep.

To be honest, I think this is either very confusing or there is no way you can specify the number of Backup Sets I want to keep, for now I give up...

Note that one very important function is still missing: to be able to make a backup using the Boot Media. Let's take this example: daily backups are scheduled at 16:00 hrs....but 5 minutes before the daily backup is supposed to run, something happened to Windows (either a virus or windows failure) and the system cannot be started again in the Windows Environment.... The only solution is to restore from the last backup (of yesterday) but all the changed/updated files since the last backup (in this case yesterday) will be lost then simply because you cannot make a backup from the Boot Media.... All other products I have been tested so far (Macrium, Veritas System Recovery, Acronis True Image), all have the option to make a backup using the Boot Media.
cloggy
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:22 am
Full Name: Dick Hoogendoorn

Next

Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests