Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Veeam Logoby Jon Barrow » Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:54 pm

Hi,

I currently have backup and replication installed and running for the backup of VM's however I have sought after a full bare-metal backup for the backup of standalone servers (non-virtualised servers).

My question is, will Endpoint be safe to use on a live production server?

The server functions as a domain controller and I am concerned if the backup runs at night and over-runs (into the production hours), will this affect the users accessing the server?

Does endpoint use a snapshot technology?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Jon Barrow
Jon Barrow
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:48 pm
Full Name: Jon Barrow

Re: Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:30 pm

Hello Jon,
My question is, will Endpoint be safe to use on a live production server?

If we are talking about GA version, then yes: installations on the windows servers OS’s starting from 2008R2 SP1 are supported. Several users have shared their results of backing up the DC in this thread: Endpoint Backup. Backup of the Domain Controller
The server functions as a domain controller and I am concerned if the backup runs at night and over-runs (into the production hours), will this affect the users accessing the server?

I believe, it depends on how the backup schedule is configured. For instance, you can set the daily schedule to start the backup every evening.
Does endpoint use a snapshot technology?

Yes it does.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Veeam Logoby Jon Barrow » Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:22 pm

Thanks the response.

I will set this off tonight (whilst quiet over the weekend) and report back.

Thanks

Jon
Jon Barrow
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:48 pm
Full Name: Jon Barrow

Re: Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:25 pm

Jon,
Thank you. Awaiting for your results.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6261
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Using a Veeam Endpoint on a live production server

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:56 pm

Jon,

Additionally on your question about overrunning and running into the production hours... By default we throttle the backup so it doesn't interfere with production activities so as long as you don't take away that tick in the checkbox, your users will not see (or better experience) any performance issues.

For your information, my domain controllers are being backed up at 00.30, 01.00, 01.30 and 02.00 and (besides the first one) never actually backup at the same time. I have a very large AD which gets updated, deletes, changes and more very frequently (it is a domain being used for doing various tests and we simulate user load on it regularly)

Let us know the results

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3171
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests