Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby kevinme » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:18 pm

When trying to enter our Backup Repository (currently used by Veaeam B+R, and 3 Veeam Endpoint Agents), a Loading License window appears, then another window appears and states:

Failed to load Veeam Agent for Windows License.
Failed to connect to remote backup service.

When viewing licensing information in Veeam Agent for Windows settings, it states:

License:

Expiration - 5/1/2017 12:00:00 AM
Support Expiration - 5/1/2017 12:00:00 AM
Platforms - 50 Workstations, 20 Servers
Contact person - Public Beta (benchmark@veeam.com)

Note: Our Veeam B+R is 9.5 Update 1.
kevinme
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:00 pm
Full Name: kevin

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:45 pm

Hi kevin,

You get this error in VAW 2.0 BETA, right?

So, Agent license is deployed to VBR 9.5 U1. Any chance you have this VBR connected to Enterprise Manager?

Are you testing both Veeam Endpoint Backup 1.5 and Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0 BETA within the same VBR?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5843
Liked: 418 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby kevinme » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:08 pm

Yes, Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0 BETA throws a license error.

Yes, VBR is connected to Enterprise Manager.

No, only Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0 BETA is being used.
kevinme
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:00 pm
Full Name: kevin

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:14 pm

Thanks for the clarification. Please try install agent license to the Enterprise Manager console and let me know how it goes.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5843
Liked: 418 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby kevinme » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:26 pm

Dima P. wrote:Thanks for the clarification. Please try install agent license to the Enterprise Manager console and let me know how it goes.


I really only needed to backup a Server & an external USB Hard Drive attached to the server and was hoping Veeam could do both simultaneously (veeam-agent-for-windows-f33/veeam-agent-for-windows-does-not-see-attached-usb-drive-t40802.html). Since Veeam will not back up that drive, I've no need to continue. Thank you for your assistance Dima.
kevinme
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:00 pm
Full Name: kevin

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows throws a license error

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:48 pm

Kevin,

Fair. Thanks again for sharing the false positive alert from your AV!
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5843
Liked: 418 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: obijay and 6 guests