Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
GChuck
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Greg

Veeam Free Windows backups setting questions

Post by GChuck »

I've been using the Veeam Free backup for about 2 years now for my small home network. My network consists of 2-4 Windows computers and 2 servers running TrueNAS. What I've tried to do is to duplicate the functions my previous Windows Home Server with Veeam as a backup, TrueNAS for file sharing and Plex for multimedia. All my Veeam backups are stored on the TrueNAS server.

The TrueNAS server is a true server (Xeon E-2236 with 64GB memory, 4 x 4TB Ironwolf RaidZ-2) while the second TrueNAS server is an old (2008) consumer grade Intel Core2-duo box with 8GB memory and the same 4 x 4TB Ironwolf RaidZ-2 drives.

The second TrueNAS server is just used as a cold backup for the primary server. Once a week it gets powered up and an rsync job runs to synchronize all files that have changed during the previous week. Then it is shutdown again till the next week!

My settings for the backup jobs was to first do a full backup for each client and then permanent incremental backups with 28 day retention period. While this has worked just great, I keep worrying that the .vbk file continues to grow. I do a health check monthly and a defragment weekly.

What I would like to do is a weekly full backup and then keep up to 4 full backups for 4 weeks with incremental backups nightly.

So I set up my Veeam backup job to create an active full backup weekly with a retention of 7 days. This seems to give me two full backup files and 14 incremental files. But once the oldest full backup file reaches it's retention date, then it, along with all related incremental files gets deleted. That leaves me with two full backup files and only 6 incremental files.