-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Credentials from command line
Hello,
I am new to veeam, and I am using the free version of Agent for Linux, and I am trying to set a backup from my CentOS server to my NAS. My NAS does require crendentials for access to write to the backup folder. Is there a way to configure these credentials from the command line? Thanks in advance for your help.
I am new to veeam, and I am using the free version of Agent for Linux, and I am trying to set a backup from my CentOS server to my NAS. My NAS does require crendentials for access to write to the backup folder. Is there a way to configure these credentials from the command line? Thanks in advance for your help.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 6551
- Liked: 765 times
- Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Hi,
Currently the only way to do so would be to mount NAS to a local directory of your choice, create a repository on that directory, and configure backup to send backups there.
Mount your NAS locally (at this point it will prompt you for password):
Create veeam repository:
Create veeam job:
Thanks
Currently the only way to do so would be to mount NAS to a local directory of your choice, create a repository on that directory, and configure backup to send backups there.
Mount your NAS locally (at this point it will prompt you for password):
Code: Select all
mount.cifs \\\\WINSMB001\\shared /veeam_repo -o user=username
Code: Select all
veeamconfig repository create --name myNAS --location /veeam_repo
Code: Select all
veeamconfig job create --name centosBackup --objects /dev/sda --repoName myNAS <other options>
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
The command I'm using to mount this is "mount.cifs //myNASip/mnt/data/veeam /var/backup -o user=veeam". This prompts me for the password for the user veeam, but then gives me the error "mount error(6): No such device or address". Even though I know that /mnt/data/veeam does exist on my NAS. Am I doing something wrong?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5797
- Liked: 1215 times
- Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
- Full Name: Niels Engelen
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Can u try username=veeam ?
And can u try to mount that share on maybe another server? Also I notice u do the backup to /var/backup (default dir) - I would suggest making something like /mnt/nasbackup and utilize it (don't use /mnt/backup as we use that for restores).
And can u try to mount that share on maybe another server? Also I notice u do the backup to /var/backup (default dir) - I would suggest making something like /mnt/nasbackup and utilize it (don't use /mnt/backup as we use that for restores).
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
I tried exactly what you stated. I tried to mount to /mnt/nasbackup and used username=veeam. Still getting the same error. I tried mounting to a different server and got "no suitable address".
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5797
- Liked: 1215 times
- Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
- Full Name: Niels Engelen
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Are you using dns name or via IP to the share?
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
I'm using the DNS name.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 6551
- Liked: 765 times
- Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Does Veeam Agent mount the share correctly if you do it via UI? If so then you should refer to man mount page as the issue seems to be related to the OS itself, not the Agent.
Thanks
Thanks
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
When I run a normal mount command I'm able to get my /etc/fstab to show 10.0.16.12:/mnt/data/veeam /mnt/nasbackup nfs defaults 0 0. Then when I run veeamconfig job create --name daily_backup --reponame nas_backup --backupallsystem. I get "Error: LvmDriver: Failed to create LVM instance." Any suggestions? I'm not running a GUI on this machine, so I have nothing to compare it to.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5797
- Liked: 1215 times
- Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
- Full Name: Niels Engelen
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
You can run the "veeam" command as it is a commandline GUI which can assist you. I am sure when you configure the job via this it will be easier to troubleshoot.
Did you add the /mnt/nasbackup share as a repository before running the command?
Did you add the /mnt/nasbackup share as a repository before running the command?
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
I don't remember which I did first, but I deleted the repository and re-created it. Still getting the same error. How do I run the UI from the command line?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5797
- Liked: 1215 times
- Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
- Full Name: Niels Engelen
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Just type/run "veeam" (without the quotes)
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 6551
- Liked: 765 times
- Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
Regarding the error:
Thanks
Please check this thread for resolution."Error: LvmDriver: Failed to create LVM instance."
Thanks
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 44
- Liked: 2 times
- Joined: Nov 08, 2017 2:00 pm
- Full Name: Patrick Wilson
- Contact:
Re: Credentials from command line
That other thread answered my question about LVM. It says the backup job is scheduled successfully for tonight, so we'll see what happens! Thank you!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests