Standalone backup agents for Linux, Mac, AIX & Solaris workloads on-premises or in the public cloud
cwhitmore
Enthusiast
Liked: never
Full Name: Carlton Whitmore

Possible workaround for Rocky Linux 9.1 agent install?

Post by cwhitmore »

I'm new to Linux, but have been using Veeam B&R for years. I'm aware that Veeam currently does not support Rocky Linux, but has anyone gotten one of the other linux agents to install successfully on Rocky Linux?
aj_potc
Expert
Liked: 35 times

Re: Possible workaround for Rocky Linux 9.1 agent install?

Post by aj_potc »

What do you mean by other agents?

When I tested this, Veeam Agent for Linux 6 worked without any modifications. The blksnap module was compatible with my test VM, and no errors were produced when I tried to back it up.

What specific error or problem are you encountering?
cwhitmore
Enthusiast

Post by cwhitmore »

@aj_potc thanks for replying. The process I was using to install the agent was to create a backup job from my B&R server which then installs the agent automatically on the client if it doesn't exist. The problem is that when you install this way it checks the Linux OS and if it's not on the supported list you get the error "OS is not supported".
By other agents I meant downloading one of the various RHEL agents directly to the Rocky Linux server. You mentioned you installed RHEL/Oracle Linux 6. Why not the latest RHEL/Oracle Linux 9 agent?
aj_potc
Expert

Post by aj_potc » 1 person likes this post

Thanks for that clarification -- now I see what you mean.

As you found, you can't install the agent software via the VBR server because it does an OS check. However, you can install it directly on the system to be backed up and still manage it via the VBR server post-installation. Please see my post here:

post446499.html#p446499