-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 241
- Liked: 44 times
- Joined: Jun 10, 2019 12:19 pm
- Full Name: Daniel Johansson
- Contact:
Get-VBOEntityData timeout
Spinoff from another thread. It seems that Get-VBOEntityData often times out before completing. On our VBO servers we typically get this when querying a repository:
PS C:\Scripts> Get-VBOEntityData -type Site -Repository $repo
Get-VBOEntityData : This request operation sent to net.tcp://127.0.0.1:9191/Repository did not receive a reply within the configured timeout (00:01:00). The time allotted to this operation may have been a portion of a longer timeout. This may be because the service is still processing the operation or because the service was unable to send a reply message. Please consider increasing the operation timeout (by casting the channel/proxy to IContextChannel and setting the OperationTimeout property) and ensure that the service is able to connect to the client.
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-VBOEntityData -type Site -Repository $repo
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-VBOEntityData], TimeoutException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.TimeoutException,Veeam.Archiver.PowerShell.Cmdlets.DataManagement.GetVBOEntityData
There should be less than 350 sites in the Sharepoint backup in that repository, and the total size of the repository is around 2 TB. The server was idle before doing this query. Querying for users on that server/repo work fine (400 users). On another VBO server I get random timeouts both querying for sites (around 400) and users (around 250), one time it works and the next it times out. That server was idle too. Both servers have a single organization and the repositories are on SMB shares. The shares are on the same fileserver, but I don't think the problem is in that end. There is no shortage of bandwidth or other resources. On the VBO vms the CPU consumption of Veeam.Archive.Proxy goes up quite a bit when running these queries, up to 40-50% typically, then stays there for a while (a few minutes) even after the query has errored out. It all seems rather random.
Would it be possible to raise the 60 second timeout or make it configurable? Or is there some better solution? We really need to get this working to get billing data. Can we check directly in the repo databases somehow?
PS C:\Scripts> Get-VBOEntityData -type Site -Repository $repo
Get-VBOEntityData : This request operation sent to net.tcp://127.0.0.1:9191/Repository did not receive a reply within the configured timeout (00:01:00). The time allotted to this operation may have been a portion of a longer timeout. This may be because the service is still processing the operation or because the service was unable to send a reply message. Please consider increasing the operation timeout (by casting the channel/proxy to IContextChannel and setting the OperationTimeout property) and ensure that the service is able to connect to the client.
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-VBOEntityData -type Site -Repository $repo
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-VBOEntityData], TimeoutException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.TimeoutException,Veeam.Archiver.PowerShell.Cmdlets.DataManagement.GetVBOEntityData
There should be less than 350 sites in the Sharepoint backup in that repository, and the total size of the repository is around 2 TB. The server was idle before doing this query. Querying for users on that server/repo work fine (400 users). On another VBO server I get random timeouts both querying for sites (around 400) and users (around 250), one time it works and the next it times out. That server was idle too. Both servers have a single organization and the repositories are on SMB shares. The shares are on the same fileserver, but I don't think the problem is in that end. There is no shortage of bandwidth or other resources. On the VBO vms the CPU consumption of Veeam.Archive.Proxy goes up quite a bit when running these queries, up to 40-50% typically, then stays there for a while (a few minutes) even after the query has errored out. It all seems rather random.
Would it be possible to raise the 60 second timeout or make it configurable? Or is there some better solution? We really need to get this working to get billing data. Can we check directly in the repo databases somehow?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 5797
- Liked: 1215 times
- Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
- Full Name: Niels Engelen
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
You can modify the timeout via the XML file: C:\ProgramData\Veeam\Backup365\Config.xml
You should be able to add the following, where 600 defines the timeout (in this case 10 minutes). Keep in mind, to change this, you need to shut down all VBO365 services, change the value and start them again.
You should be able to add the following, where 600 defines the timeout (in this case 10 minutes). Keep in mind, to change this, you need to shut down all VBO365 services, change the value and start them again.
Code: Select all
<Veeam>
<Archiver>
....
<WCF OperationTimeout="600" />
....
</Archiver>
</Veeam>
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 241
- Liked: 44 times
- Joined: Jun 10, 2019 12:19 pm
- Full Name: Daniel Johansson
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
Wonderful! That did it. Thanks a lot.
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 14
- Liked: never
- Joined: Dec 19, 2017 7:48 pm
- Full Name: S.Pythoud
- Location: Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
Is this parameter working on additionnal proxies or must it be setup in proxie's xml file too ?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 8191
- Liked: 1322 times
- Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
- Full Name: Mike Resseler
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
Hi Seb.pythoud,
PowerShell and REST API calls are done against the VBO controller so it should be enough on the controller only as far as I recall
Mike
PowerShell and REST API calls are done against the VBO controller so it should be enough on the controller only as far as I recall
Mike
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2022 7:50 pm
- Full Name: Isai Salabarria
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
There is a work around i found. If you open veeam explorer for microsoft exchange and let it load. Once you can hit the drop down for the stores run the command again and it will work.
Now, i know increasing the time out parameter will work, but why is it taking so long in the first place? Its connecting to local host, from local host.
Now, i know increasing the time out parameter will work, but why is it taking so long in the first place? Its connecting to local host, from local host.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 8191
- Liked: 1322 times
- Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
- Full Name: Mike Resseler
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
We need to run through all those repositories to get the information, that is why it takes so long. By running the Veeam explorer you have mounted those already which will make it faster
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2022 7:50 pm
- Full Name: Isai Salabarria
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
here is the thing, I get this error message when running the Remove-VBOLicensedUser command. Timeout is already set to 600 and still getting the error.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Jun 06, 2022 7:50 pm
- Full Name: Isai Salabarria
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
here is the thing, I get this error message when running the Remove-VBOLicensedUser command. Timeout is already set to 600 and still getting the error.Mike Resseler wrote: ↑Jun 07, 2022 6:00 am We need to run through all those repositories to get the information, that is why it takes so long. By running the Veeam explorer you have mounted those already which will make it faster
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 8191
- Liked: 1322 times
- Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
- Full Name: Mike Resseler
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Get-VBOEntityData timeout
So you are removing a specific user his backupped data to free up a license? And you get these time-outs. Can you create a support call for this?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: JasonBailey and 24 guests