Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
Post Reply
dasfliege
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 53 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2014 1:48 pm
Full Name: Florin
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by dasfliege »

One of our VBM365 tenants is switching to another service provider. As they still want to have their existing backups accessible for some time, they asked us if it possible to export the data and hand it over to the new service provider.
So my question: Is it possible to import an existing repository in VBM365 and are you still able to perform restores from this repository, even if you never perform any backups to the repo after importing it?
Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 3014
Liked: 713 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by Polina »

Hi,

Are you storing their backups in object storage or in a local Jet-based repository?
dasfliege
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 53 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2014 1:48 pm
Full Name: Florin
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by dasfliege »

In a local jet repo
Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 3014
Liked: 713 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by Polina » 1 person likes this post

In this case, your customer can simply 'take' with them their existing repository with all its backup databases.

To restore this existing data, there're options:
1) Use Veeam Explorers to read backups from these databases as standalone. In this case, only the latest backup state will be available; no choice of a restore point to browse.
2) On the new VB365 server, re-add this repository and add the tenant's organization. Then they will be able to browse their older backups and restore points from the organization node in the VB365 console.

Makes sense?
dasfliege
Service Provider
Posts: 238
Liked: 53 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2014 1:48 pm
Full Name: Florin
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by dasfliege »

Makes sense. Thank you!

But i think for option 2, they do have to point (and run?) a backup job to the imported repository as well, don't they? Or is veeam recognizing where the imported data belongs to, just by adding the repository?
I forgot to mention that the new service provider will setup a fresh backup job for the same organization prior to importing the archive we deliver, so they will not have any gaps in backup history.
Polina
Veeam Software
Posts: 3014
Liked: 713 times
Joined: Oct 21, 2011 11:22 am
Full Name: Polina Vasileva
Contact:

Re: Import existing VBM365 repository for archival purpose

Post by Polina » 1 person likes this post

With the 2nd option, there's no need for a backup job, Veeam will recognize that there's a repository that contains some backups belonging to this organization.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests