Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 data
Post Reply
Johnny L
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 22, 2021 11:37 am
Full Name: Johnny L
Contact:

Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Johnny L »

Hello,

We are currently working on changing our customer backups from a single job/repository to 1 job/repository for each "category" (Exchange, Sharepoint, OneDrive and Teams). For smaller customers this has been going smooth, but for customers with a lot of data it's proven to be a bit harder.
The first full backup is taking long due to the amount of data, and as long as that job is running our live backups gets queued up. Seeing as backup is critical I have tried running a full backup of only teams for a single customer between 08:00 and 22:00 for several days, but it is never able to complete.

So in order to be able to run full backups I am considering spinning up a VM to be a temporary proxy-server to download all the data and when everything is done move the backup back to the original proxy-servers.

We are currently running 3 proxies with repositories going to the same location.

Do you have any recommendations regarding how to switch between proxies without creating a chaos in the repositories?

ks.any.cloud
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 04, 2021 2:17 pm
Full Name: Kim Svane
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by ks.any.cloud »

Hi Johnny

There are many aspects of this issue.

1. Which authentication method is used ?
2. is there Exchange, Sharepoint and teams data at this tenant ?
3. how many TB are we talking about ?
4. what are the specs of the servers, both VBO and proxy ?
5. what version of VBO are you using ?

Johnny L
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 22, 2021 11:37 am
Full Name: Johnny L
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Johnny L »

Hello, Kim!

Thank you for responding.

1. Modern Authentication only with 8 additional backup-applications for managing throttling.
2. Yes.
3. The current repository (which contains "everything") is 1343GB.
4. This specific job is running on a physical server with 128GB RAM and a 32 core CPU (Xeon Silver 4110@2.10GHz). The proxy-service has been limited to 24 workerthreads to keep it from using 100% CPU and crashing the Veeam service..
5. 5.0.1.207.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6816
Liked: 900 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Mike Resseler »

Johnny,

If I understand it correctly, you are doing a new full backup. Did you looked at this: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vbo36 ... tml?ver=50?

This cmdlet allows you to move data from an object to another repository

Johnny L
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 22, 2021 11:37 am
Full Name: Johnny L
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Johnny L »

Hi, Mike!

Move-VBOEntityData looks promising.

Got any tips on how to avoid timeout-errors when running Get-VBOEntitydata? I saw an old post suggesting adding <WCF OperationTimeout="600" /> to config.xml, but that did not work for me.

If I can make this work then here's my plan. I will have to re-check all the parameters to see if I've gotten them all (and categorized them correctly), as well as only run a portion at a time.

Code: Select all

# Define source and targets
$Source             = Get-VBORepository -Name '<source-repository>'
$TeamsTarget        = Get-VBORepository -Name '<new repository for teams>'
$SharepointTarget   = Get-VBORepository -Name '<new repository for sharepoint>'
$OnedriveTarget     = Get-VBORepository -Name '<new repository for onedrive>'
$ExchangeTarget     = Get-VBORepository -Name '<new repository for exchange>'


# Teams
$TeamsParameters =@{
    From            = $Source
    To              = $TeamsTarget
    Teams           = $True
}
Move-VBOEntityData @TeamsParameters

# Sharepoint
$SharepointParameters =@{
    From            = $Source
    To              = $SharepointTarget
    Sites           = $true
    GroupSite       = $true
}
Move-VBOEntityData @SharepointParameters

# Onedrive
$OnedriveParameters =@{
    From            = $Source
    To              = $OnedriveTarget
    OneDrive        = $true

}
Move-VBOEntityData @OnedriveParameters

# Exchange
$ExchangeParameters =@{
    From            = $Source
    To              = $ExchangeTarget
    Mailbox         = $true
    GroupMailbox    = $true
    ArchiveMailbox  = $true
}
Move-VBOEntityData @ExchangeParameters



Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6816
Liked: 900 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Mike Resseler »

I'm not 100 percent sure anymore what that issue could be. @nielsengelen ?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 4165
Liked: 856 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by nielsengelen »

It could be a sizing issue on the controller if you see timeouts. How much mem/cpu is the VBO server running on?
Personal blog: https://foonet.be
GitHub: https://github.com/nielsengelen

Johnny L
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 22, 2021 11:37 am
Full Name: Johnny L
Contact:

Re: Switching between proxy-servers

Post by Johnny L »

Hi, Niels!

No running jobs, currently using 79/128GB RAM (Veam.Archiver.Proxy.exe loves RAM..) and 0% of our 32 core CPU (Xeon Silver 4110@2.10GHz).
It seems to be timing out after 60 seconds:

Code: Select all

Measure-Command {Get-VBOEntityData -Type site -Repository $repository}
TotalSeconds      : 60,0773895
Johnny

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests