3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby wally.nl » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:39 pm

This morning HP upgraded 1 of our 3PAR 7400 systems. The upgrade itself went without issues but it seems the upgrade breaks the Veeam B&R integration. When creating snapshots we get a "user authentication failed" error. When we go to the users and issue a check we get a "fingerprint validation failed". On the 3par we see a different error: Description "ssl handshake error sock7: handshake failed: wrong version number" type "SSL error between CLI client and server".

The "old" 3PAR 3.1.2 CLI utility also can't connect after the FW upgrade (to 3.2.2MU3) and shows the same error on the 3PAR but the newer 3.2.2 CLI client connects without issues to this newer version and the "old" 3.2.1MU2 version that is running on our other campus.

We're waiting for completion of the reboot after having tried the "SshFingerprintCheck" reghack, will update this post if this fixes things but the error on the 3PAR makes me think it won't.

Anybody else having (dealt with) this issue?
wally.nl
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby gpomanti » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:57 pm

We just experienced the same issue after we upgraded our 3PAR to 3.2.2 MU3 last weekend. I contacted Veeam support and they told me that 3PAR recently changed their authentication method, which makes sense considering the error. Veeam provided me with a hotfix pretty quickly that solved the problem. I suggest contacting support and you should have it resolved quickly.
gpomanti
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:11 pm
Full Name: Greg Pomanti

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:59 pm

Correct, you can directly refer the support engineer to Issue ID 84029.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13934
Liked: 1015 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] HPE 3PAR/StoreServ 3.2.2 MU3 Integration

Veeam Logoby Khue » Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:35 am

Hey everyone,

I plan on opening a ticket with Veeam on this in the morning during business hours, but I am noticing a potential issue with Veeam and InServ 3.2.2 MU3. I recently just upgraded my 7450s to this release and Veeam has lost the ability to snapshot these devices. My initial thought was that either the WSAPI service was inactive or the SSH fingerprint got changed with the update. After checking on both of those two issues and still seeing Veeam fail hinting at authentication issues, I then went on to test the Storage Infrastructure integration. Upon attempting to rescan I started to receive a fingerprinting issue which I had suspected. I removed the device from Veeam and attempted to readd it accepting the newer fingerprint. After accepting the fingerprint, I still received issues about authentication. I've tried the built in superuser account for the InServ OS and our native AD integrated credentials and neither seem to be working. So again on the checklist:

  • Verified that the WSAPI service was up and running. Both HTTP and HTTPS access work
  • Verified that credentials work to InServ OS SSH session. Both integrated AD auth and native InServ root access accounts working
  • Attempted to remove the storage and re-add it to Veeam. Accepted fingerprint, authentication still failed.

In the meantime, I plan on grabbing some Wireshark dumps. Has anyone else run into this?
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Oct 31, 2016 2:57 pm

Hi,

That is a known issue, please contact our support team and refer to the issue ID 84029 so they can provide you with a fix.

Thanks
PTide
Product Manager
 
Posts: 2752
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Khue » Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:15 pm

I went ahead and ran the fix however, still no luck. I have reported back on my open ticket and I am awaiting a response. Might have to do with a subsequent patch for MU3. Patch version is P41.
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Khue » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:12 pm

Interestingly enough, on my Server 2012 R2 box, I have two different folders where there were files. The folder from the issue ID wasn't accurate. When I searched the Veeam root directory, I found another folder with the same DLLs in it and updated those and that seems to have worked. I can provide details if necessary.
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:14 am

Hi,

Happy to hear that it worked. And yes, we would love to hear some additional details. I am not sure what you mean by the fact that there are two folders.

Thanks
Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2381
Liked: 290 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:15 am

I have two different folders where there were files

Do you refer to \Backup and \Console folders where the said DLLs are present? Which one did you patch originally? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Product Manager
 
Posts: 12400
Liked: 892 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Khue » Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:51 am

Veeam instructions from the IssueID (Actually, I was just following directions from an email on my case) references the following folder:

Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup


That folder exists and the DLLs referenced exist there. We redirect non Microsoft based installs to the D: drive, specifically the "Program Files (x86)" folder set as we have specific permissions on that folder and our D: drive is substantially larger. In this specific case, I therefore modified:

Code: Select all
D:\Program Files (x86)\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\


So after modifying the DLLs in that folder, nothing changed. I was still not able to do hardware based snapshots from Veeam. I dug around a bit and found that the DLLs needing to be replaced, also exist in the following folder:

Code: Select all
D:\Program Files (x86)\Veeam\Backup\


To test, I ran through the process on that folder and then started Veeam again and I was then able to do backups. I am not sure what type of user error I did to generate that problem, but clearly it must be something that I've done along the way. What's odd is that in my development environment on my Windows 2008 R2 environment, the process went as described. In production on my Windows 2012 R2 server, I had to modify the "D:\Program Files (x86)\Veeam\Backup" folder instead.

Like I said before, most likely, this is probably something I screwed up at some point.
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Mike Resseler » Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:20 pm

Thanks for coming back to us with the explanation. It is appreciated.

Mike
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2381
Liked: 290 times
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: Belgium, the land of the fries, the beer, the chocolate and the diamonds...
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Ejdesgaard » Wed Nov 02, 2016 4:03 pm

Does this also affect 3.2.2MU2 on a new installation ?
Ejdesgaard
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:59 am

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Nov 03, 2016 12:48 am

Yes.
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20985
Liked: 2248 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby dweide » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:01 am 1 person likes this post

We had the same issue here. Opened a support case with the case Id mentioned above and received the fix within 2 hours.

The fix immediately worked.

Perfect!
dweide
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 32
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 1:57 pm
Full Name: D. Weide

Re: 3PAR 3.2.2MU3 breaks Veeam B&R integration?

Veeam Logoby aschepers » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:35 am

We will be upgrading to 3.2.1 MU5 P39 and P49 this week. Will we also need the hotfix?
aschepers
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dellock6, Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, tdewin, Yahoo [Bot] and 68 guests