Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
91gsixty
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 18, 2009 7:21 pm
Full Name: jeff Ferguson
Contact:

4.1 - Import Backup

Post by 91gsixty »

After the upgrade from 4.0 to 4.1 went smoothly.
BUT!

None of my replications were saved, and It was like i started from scratch again.

Newaz.

I connected my VC and tried to import my vbk files from the "VeeamBackup" folder on the vmfs, but i get a error

"Failed to import....Unknown VBK format"

how is this possible.

How can i resolve this.

jeff

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by Gostev »

Jeff, you cannot import replicas. "Import Backup" functionality is for importing backup files only.

91gsixty
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 18, 2009 7:21 pm
Full Name: jeff Ferguson
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by 91gsixty »

Ok, so how can I get my Backup Jobs list back.

All my VMs are replicated.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by Gostev »

Try re-installing Veeam Backup 4.1 while selecting the same SQL database instance as was used by 4.0 release. I am not so sure how you did the upgrade, but it looks like your current install points to some "fresh" configuration database, which is why you do not see any jobs. Feel free to contact our support for troubleshooting and assistance with this.

91gsixty
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 18, 2009 7:21 pm
Full Name: jeff Ferguson
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by 91gsixty »

Hmm..

I did create a new database (which of course is my problem).

Is there no manual way to "reset" the replications cause i want to get off the SQL express DB.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by Gostev »

If you want to migrate your existing Veeam Backup configuration database to another SQL server, you should simply move the database to another SQL server. Basically you detach the database files (MDF, LDF) from SQL Express database, then copy and attach these files to your other SQL server. Microsoft has these procedures fully documented (such database migrations is quite common task anyway).

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by Gostev »

Here's the corresponding Microsoft KB article which provides a number of possible methods, but there are tons of other similar how-tos on the Internet written by actual users.

91gsixty
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 18, 2009 7:21 pm
Full Name: jeff Ferguson
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by 91gsixty »

Thanks for the Info.

I moved the DB to 2005 with some security changes. All is GOOD!

sqldba
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: May 04, 2010 6:52 pm
Full Name: Danette Mondou
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by sqldba »

How I would have asked this question is, my current server is fried. I have to rebuild that server and I want to use the VEEAM backup to do that. Can I use Veeam to restore the entire server on a similar server with the database? Doing the above would work if I have a couple of databases. I have a server that has over 50 databases, doing the one at a time would not work for us. Does Veeam have a solution for a complete restore?

Thanks sqldba

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: 4.1 - Import Backup

Post by Gostev »

Danette, yes you can certainly perform complete server restore. Actually, this is the default option in the Restore wizard in our product - this restores entire VM image. So, in your example you just restore the whole VM containing your SQL with 50 databases, and power it on.

What is being discussed above, is how one can perform more granular restore options than restoring entire VM with 50 databases.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 36 guests