Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wocomike
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 16, 2009 12:50 am
Contact:

A few questions

Post by wocomike » Dec 17, 2009 12:58 am

Hey All,

I'm a trial user... I have a few more questions.

1) On my "initial" backup, one of the machines didn't have an upgraded VMware Tools version, so the VSS didn't work properly. After a few "intermediate" backups, if I restore something from a restore point after the initial backup, will the files be ok?

2) SQL and Exchange - is there a way to get the software to apply the log files to either app, if we use this for our sole backup software?

3) My intermediate backup today is taking as long as yesterday's initial backup. I'm backing up over the LAN. Is there any way I can increase speed?

Thanks!

-Mike

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1518 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 17, 2009 8:28 am

Hello Mike,

1. Yes, if you were not doing backups of SQL servers, Domain Controllers and other transaction critical applications your VMs should be ok after the restore, however we do recommend to use VSS for all Windows VMs, that will keep your VMs in consistent state.

2. If I got your right, you can run a NTBackup job before the Veeam job to commit and clear up all the log's from SQL and Exchange servers.

3. Can you tell us what version of ESX hosts do you have? What backup mode is being used? What is the destination storage type? Also it'll be great to hear what speed figures do you see for your both runs?

Thank you.

antivir
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2009 2:39 pm
Full Name: Andrew
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by antivir » Dec 17, 2009 10:16 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Mike,

1. Yes, if you were not doing backups of SQL servers, Domain Controllers and other transaction critical applications your VMs should be ok after the restore, however we do recommend to use VSS for all Windows VMs, that will keep your VMs in consistent state.
Does it mean to use VSS for all VMs including fileservers only?
Does Veeam VSS use Vmware tools VSS?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22747
Liked: 1518 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: A few questions

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 17, 2009 10:46 am

Andrew,

Yes, if your windows version as well as the application supports VSS, then enable Veeam VSS option is a preferred and recommended way to backup your VMs. Actually, Veeam implementaion and VMware Tools VSS differs, Veeam VSS is our code, however we use VMware Tools to determine VM ip address and type of OS. If you make some search on these two Veeam VSS and VMware Tools VSS you'll find many threads discussing both options.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests