Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rjiupat
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Advice on modifying an existing setup

Post by rjiupat »

I am new to working with Veeam, and I would appreciate some advice on my plans to update our backup processes. We are a fairly small environment - we currently have 2 VMWare clusters, one on prem and one at a colo. We are running Veeam B&R v10 on a VM on prem with an offsite proxy on the colo cluster. We are backing up 10 VMware VMs nightly and another 5 weekly. All 15 VMs together are around 7TB. The backup repositories (10 & 15TB) are mounted on the B&R server and the proxy, and we are using Windows deduplication and no encryption. This has been working well for us, but we would like to make a few changes. We are going to be retiring the colo cluster and getting new hardware for the on-prem cluster in the near future.

My plan is to add an immutable Wasabi or Backblaze repository and switch our Backup Copy jobs to that rather than the offsite repository; after that the colo cluster will be going away. When I am adding the S3-compatible SOBR, would it be best to add it to one of my existing local repositories or create a new one and if new, what sizing guidelines would you suggest?

I then plan to move us to v11, and add a local Linux hardened repository on a standalone machine so that we will have immutability local as well. I understand that if I switch to a Linux repository I will lose the Windows deduplication, but that XFS offers some benefits in terms of performance and space saving also. Can anyone speak to how much of a difference I am likely to see in needed space for my repository?