An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote hos

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote hos

Veeam Logoby Yanish » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:03 am

Hi team,
Over he last few days I have been receiving this error during backups: "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host"
On retry the job is successful.
I have Veeam on a physical server with a proxy. backups are stored locally on the Veeam Server.
I found the following KB regarding the issue - http://www.veeam.com/kb1781
Should the registry change recommended in the kb be performed on the Veeam server or the proxy server?

Thanks
Gil Gross- Technical Lead G-Net Ltd
Yanish
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:44 am
Location: Israel
Full Name: Gil Gross

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:20 am

Hi, Gil,

So, you're saying both backup repository and backup proxy server are deployed on one machine, right? I'm asking since this issue is typically related to packet loss between source and target backup component, and in case of all-in-one deployment network shouldn't be involved.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13433
Liked: 988 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:47 am

And since you have both Veeam B&R management server and proxy on the same machine, there should not be such a question where to deploy the mentioned registry key. ;)
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14907
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:02 pm

Joking apart, I believe the key should be deployed on the target server (the one receiving the connection), however it is not clear whether it is the proxy or repository component in your case, so I recommend providing logs for review to our support guys.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14907
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby Yanish » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:50 pm

Slight Correction.
I have a pyshical Veeam server whih is also my repostory.
I have a seperate virtual Proxy.
So I assume according to your answers that I need to make the registry change on the Repository?
Gil Gross- Technical Lead G-Net Ltd
Yanish
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:44 am
Location: Israel
Full Name: Gil Gross

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:58 pm

Since this error is talking about the remote host, then, yes, I believe you need to make these changes on the repository, but I will verify it tomorrow.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19709
Liked: 1117 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:30 pm

Anyway, as mentioned in the referenced KB article, the fist thing one having this issue should do is to check network connectivity between backup components and see whether it's stable or not, as this is the most frequent cause of this error. So, have you already checked it? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13433
Liked: 988 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby Yanish » Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:57 am

Yes, as far as we can tell there are no network issues.
We also changed time of backups incase something was interfering.
Also, retries always succeed.
We will attempt the registry key change and cotact support of that does not help.

Thanks
Gil Gross- Technical Lead G-Net Ltd
Yanish
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:44 am
Location: Israel
Full Name: Gil Gross

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:53 am

The best idea, indeed, as we can spend weeks guessing via the forum correspondence. Meanwhile, the support team should understand the root cause after analyzing corresponding logs and infrastructure.

Anyway, keep us updated how this process goes.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13433
Liked: 988 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby Shralok » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:40 pm

I am having this same error and Veeam is backing up the specific server over a site-to-site VPN. Would a WAN accelerator help in this situation?

Veeam Host & Backup Repository - Server 1
Remote Server - Server 2

Server 1 reaches over a site-to-site VPN to back up Server 2 which is a VM on a Hyper-V 2008 R2 host (this host is also the proxy).

Thank you
Shralok
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:36 pm
Full Name: Shralok

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:45 pm

WAN acceleration is used in the backup copy jobs, not regular backup jobs. You need to backup the VM locally first, then use Backup Copy job to transfer backups to the remote site with WAN acceleration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14907
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby rickyelqasem » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:45 pm

I get the same problem while restoring a backup. It was suggested it could be network problems but I don't believe it so. This is what I tried. Restoring to different hosts = failed. Restoring over a isolated vswitch with no pNIC to prove its not my network = failed.

Anyone got a fix for this yet?
rickyelqasem
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:59 pm

What if you copy the backup to some other location, import it and try to restore from there? I would also contact support with this.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14907
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Tue May 16, 2017 7:04 am

So what was the root cause of this issue ?

Error: Socket has been forcibly closed. Failed to recover connection.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 609
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 16, 2017 10:14 am

There could be several reasons, if you see this in your environment, the best step would be to contact support.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14907
Liked: 1096 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DonZoomik, Google [Bot], jpdusty and 75 guests