Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Locked
Marc_Punte
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

at risk during replication-job?

Post by Marc_Punte » Jun 28, 2010 12:54 pm

We use replication-jobs to an off-site datacenter for disaster recovery.
What if we encounter a disaster during backup-hours. ( let’s say a power failure )

- primary site is off-line instantly and running VM’s are probably corrupt.
- running replication jobs are stopped in the middle of a backup, so there is no complete VM at the disaster-site.

Could it be that we are at risk during the time a replication-job takes?

Marc Punte
Sysadmin.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24643
Liked: 3470 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: at risk during replication-job?

Post by Gostev » Jun 28, 2010 2:12 pm

Here is the existing in-depth discussion talking about this scenario: Veeam Server DR

pcrebe
Enthusiast
Posts: 94
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 06, 2010 10:41 pm
Full Name: CARLO
Contact:

Best practice for backup a critical VM_replica

Post by pcrebe » Aug 18, 2011 2:55 pm

[merged]

Hello,
i need a Best practice for backup a VM_replica.

My critical VM is replicated every one hour from SAN to the DR host.
Now i suppose this bad scenario during a replication job (at 8am) for a reason :( my SAN and of consequence my job crash too.
I think my original VM is gone and my replica is incosistent, isn't it?
So, if i create a chain backup job of the VM_replica that starts after every replication job, i think i could restore my VM_replica at the previous cicle (at 7am).
I think also that my VM_replica Backup job should be Incremental because if i use Reverse Incremental after the fail of the replication job the chain backup job starts resulting in an inconsistency of all my previous backup files.

Am i doing wrong reasoning?

Please help me.
Thanks,
Carlo

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: at risk during replication-job?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 18, 2011 4:30 pm

Hello Carlo,

Actually there is no need to backup a replica VM in your scenario, just look through the topic Anton referenced above for more info. If you have any questions just continue posting there. Thanks!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: emil.davis, Google [Bot] and 17 guests