Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mwiseley
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Mark Wiseley

Backing up & Replicating 8 TB Virtual Machine

Post by mwiseley »

So.. I am fairly new to Veeam, but it is an amazing product and works great. However, I have one very large server that is our main repository for files. It holds primarly pdf's so they don't dedup very well, and my jobs take forever. My replication job took 60 hours initially, and the 2nd run is looking like it is going to take at least 16 hours. And we are replicating locally right now. I have not moved our equipment offsite which is what the ultimate goal is and I know that will slow things down even more. Also, my hope was to back it up locally as well so we would have a backup copy locally and a replicated machine in the DR site. That seems to be doing better, but trying to figure out what the best method to back up that much data would be? I really can't do Incrementals with full synthetics as that would require twice as much disk and that puts me over 16 TB just for the backup of that server, plus the server itself, and the replicated storage which puts me at 32 TB. I thought about Reversed Incremental but didn't know if that required twice as much space or not. Also, thought about doing the backup jobs to the SAN and letting the SAN replicate or backing up directly to the DR storage? Anyone have any suggestions or experience with large server backups? FYI, I'm using HP/Lefthand iSCSI for my storage.

Thanks!!
Mark
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Backing up & Replicating 8 TB Virtual Machine

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Mark,
mwiseley wrote:That seems to be doing better, but trying to figure out what the best method to back up that much data would be?
Before I answer this question, could you please tell me what backup mode are you using (direct SAN access)? What is the CPU load on the backup server while replication job is running?