Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
dchappell
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 04, 2020 12:55 pm
Full Name: David
Contact:

Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by dchappell »

I've got my main server backing up to local storage. I want to setup a second copy on a remote location (over vpn) but have limited bandwidth. The second site will be the source for rotated offsite backups too. My thoughts are the second copy at the remote location will backup pretty quick due to it being a delta transfer but can I create a second backup copy based on the first backup copy since the rotated drives will require a full transfer each time the drives are swapped?


[primary backup] -> {vpn over cloud} -> [backup copy] -> [rotated backup copy]

Thank you,
Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 14421
Liked: 1578 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by Dima P. »

Hello David,

Currently in v12 backup copy job or backup copy backup cannot be selected as a source for another backup copy job, but I'll add your vote to this feature request. Thank you!
ikomsteffen
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2023 4:51 am
Full Name: Steffen
Contact:

Re: Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by ikomsteffen »

Hi,
we also mentioned that the source button in v12 within the backupcopy jobs disappeared when you want to create a new backupcopy job.
But after upgrading to V12 in the existing copyjobs the source button is still there!
we definitaly also want this feature back to perform backupcopyjobs from a specific repo.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8856
Liked: 2337 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by Mildur »

Hi Steffen

Pre-V12 periodic Copy Jobs will be displayed as legacy jobs. They keep working with the same functionality as before.
But you cannot clone or create new legacy backup copy jobs.
Your request is noted.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
ikomsteffen
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 27, 2023 4:51 am
Full Name: Steffen
Contact:

Re: Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by ikomsteffen »

Thank you Fabian,

we also noticed, that some of our backupcopyjobs do not work anymore because we have to upgrade them to the new chain format.
As you mentioned cloning a backupcopyjob is not possible because its greyed out.
The message we get is:
Legacy backup copy jobs do not support new backup chain format of the source backup. Please recreate a backup copy job and map your existing backup files to the new job.

Unfortunally this isn`t possible because we cannot choose the source.
Also you only can choose to copy from the backup jobs and not from backupcopy jobs. So the job is copying from the backup offsite and thats what we don't want to happen. :(
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8856
Liked: 2337 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backup copy from backup copy?

Post by Mildur »

It's currently not possible. You need to wait until we bring this feature back:
post482037.html#p482037

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 77 guests